Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2019, 12:08   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Halifax NS
Boat: C&C Frigate 36
Posts: 29
St60 depth fried

All my gauges are Raymarine ST 60 vintage. On Saturday, we smelled and saw smoke. I quickly isolated to an instrument and shut down the power to them. When we docked, about 30 minutes later, we isolated it to the depth gauge. I just took the gauge a part and the board is badly fried and the sea talk plug was melted and fused to the back of it. Has anyone seen this before or do you know why it would happen or what caused it?
__________________

Atlantic Salt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 12:24   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 6,812
Re: St60 depth fried

I have not seen that problem, but suspect the cable connector shorted internally.
I'd bet the gauge is OK.
(retired electronics tech)
__________________

__________________
One should try to "Die Young" as old as possible.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 12:32   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Halifax NS
Boat: C&C Frigate 36
Posts: 29
Re: St60 depth fried

The actual transponder should be OK - I hope - but I can't see how the gauge is. I took apart and one of the metal pin connectors on the board is completely melted and the board and circuitry in that area is charred. Thanks for the reply - it all helps!
Atlantic Salt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 21:47   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,556
Re: St60 depth fried

how big was the seatalk fuse feeding all the gauges?... it should only be a couple amps. and probably should have blown.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 21:58   #5
Registered User
 
87Catalina34's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: San Diego CA
Boat: Catalina 34 Tall
Posts: 9
Re: St60 depth fried

check your battery ground , if its loose, it could cause an overvoltage in the line. mine just fried last week, for these reasons. mine was connected and powered directly by the seatalk backbone. it still fried, auto pilot and chart plotter and all other instruments were not affected

im hoping to be able to fix mine.
__________________
May the knots be forever in your favor.
87Catalina34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2019, 03:10   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 35,671
Images: 241
Re: St60 depth fried

This might help.
Raytheon ST-60 Digital Instruments SERVICE Manual
http://www.olajedatos.com/documentos...e%20Manual.pdf
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2019, 03:28   #7
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,481
St60 depth fried

A picture might help.

There are a few possibilities. Itís possible that a protection device failed on the board. Seatalk is often wired with too small wire for the length of the network. It is possible that the resistance of the power wires (red/black) is too high and the fuse could not be blown open by a fault on the board. So it cooked the board and connector.

It would be prudent to check all the other seatalk plugs for any damage. Also, check that the fuse at the power injection point on the seatalk network is properly sized.

ST-60 depth units often come up for sale on the CF commerce section. Also, check eBay as well as local boatyards. Many boaters are replacing ST-60 systems with newer instruments so there are likely used depth units around if you do a search.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2019, 10:45   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Halifax NS
Boat: C&C Frigate 36
Posts: 29
Re: St60 depth fried

This process has been enlightening. There was no fuse in the circuit. Now I have a five amp fuse which is what Ray Marine recommends. However, there are two instrument switches on my electrical panel and they each power on the instruments. one or the other can be turned on or both can be turned on at the same time and under any of those conditions the instruments are on. I put the fuse in The circuit are usually use. I am about to trace the second circuit to see where it enters the network. Is it normal to have these instruments powered by two circuits?
Atlantic Salt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2019, 11:05   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,556
Re: St60 depth fried

No yiu can’t have that. Otherwise if both are fused at 5a. Yiu now have a 10a fuse.

often the auto pilot powers them. But if it dies. you should choose either the pilot or a direct power source. And get rid of the other.

A seatalk to seatalkng adapter will also inject power from a seatalkng network to seatalk. Same thing. Either power the seatalk or seatalkng network. But not both. Or isolate power between them by cutting wire.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2019, 11:45   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Halifax NS
Boat: C&C Frigate 36
Posts: 29
Re: St60 depth fried

Good suggestions. Not sure I agree with the 5+5=10 amp fuse comment. I think if there was over 5 on either circuit then that fuse, or both, would blow. However, I donít think the way it is set up now is right and I will have to investigate further.
Atlantic Salt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2019, 14:00   #11
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,481
Re: St60 depth fried

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atlantic Salt View Post
Good suggestions. Not sure I agree with the 5+5=10 amp fuse comment. I think if there was over 5 on either circuit then that fuse, or both, would blow. However, I donít think the way it is set up now is right and I will have to investigate further.
The 5+5=10 is right if both switches are on. This is not the right way to power a Sea Talk network. Try to get ahold of a Sea Talk instrument installation manual. It will describe the right way to wire the power. Try raymarine.com for tech advice and downloadable manuals. ST60 is in the discontinued products section.

Having no fuse in a circuit is a fire waiting to happen. Good job finding and fixing that. Look elsewhere for crimes against electricity because itís rare to find just one thing wrong.
__________________

transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Raymarine RL70 chartplotter, ST5000+ Autopilot, ST60 Tridata, ST60 Speed, Compass Capt.Don General Classifieds (no boats) 12 Yesterday 05:00
Want To Buy: ST60 Wind Display/ST60 Close Haul Wind Display navyguy2837 Classifieds Archive 9 24-05-2016 04:18
Want To Buy: Raymarine ST60+ Suncover; and ST60+ Wind antoha Classifieds Archive 7 04-10-2015 18:46
For Sale: Sun Covers to Suit Raymarine ST60 or ST60+ Series Instruments RJV Classifieds Archive 1 17-07-2012 23:16
ST60 Depth vs. ST60+ Depth Ex-Calif Marine Electronics 13 28-11-2009 22:26



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.