Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-02-2015, 11:01   #1

Solar shutting down 120V battery charger

I recently installed 560watts of solar with a Morningstar TS-MPPT-45 controller. I have a Mastervolt Powercharger 12/40-3. The shore power charger worked fine but after the solar install the charger shuts down and indicates "charger failure". There are no heat sensors connected to the charge controllers. The failure occurs when the solar array starts producing power in the morning. If I reset the power to the controller it will hold for the rest of the day.

I have contacted both Mastervolt and Morningstar and neither seems to be able to explain why this is happening nor are they able to provide a solution.

Has anybody had a similar experience and/or can provide a solution?
ebs001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 11:04   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
Re: Solar shutting down 120V battery charger

I would bet the charger thinks the batteries have "run away". It's probably a fail safe as the charger doesn't have a temp sensor.

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2015, 11:17   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailmonkey View Post
I would bet the charger thinks the batteries have "run away". It's probably a fail safe as the charger doesn't have a temp sensor.

Not sure what you mean by "run away" but if you mean it cannot see the battery, the charger sees the battery fine the rest of the time only that one moment in the morning does it shut down and the Mastervolt is seeing voltage all the time so it wouldn't know the source of the voltage.
Old 15-02-2015, 11:21   #4

Boat: Leopard 40 (new model)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebs001 View Post