Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-10-2011, 17:07   #1

Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 400 40 ft "Camp David
Solar Panels

Any thoughts on a good brand of solar panels for charging 4- 6 volt golf cart batterys (440 amp hrs). The boat is located on the Georgian Bay on the great lakes.

The main purpose of the panel or panels is to keep up with a fridge system that draws about 120 amps per day.

I am not very good at this stuff, I believe the panels should be int he area of 17.70 to 18.70 volts and I think I need about 12 0amp hours or 225 watts+.

Is the MPPT the way to go on the controller?

Any and all comments are appreciated.

Fletch
CampDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2011, 17:39   #2

Boat: csy 37
Re: Solar Panels

kyocera seems to be the brand most widely used on sailboats. mine is about three years old and has worked flawlessly since i installed it. i charge four golf cart batteries and a size 27 'starting' battery with it and the principle drain on the system is an adler barbour fridge freezer of about six cubic feet - uses about 60 amps a day in the florida heat.

since my panel is only 135 watts and i only turn it on when the fridge is in use i don't have any controller at all, so i can't comment on solar controllers.

if i had two of these panels i would need a controller since i would then get more power than i use and might overcharge the batteries.
onestepcsy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2011, 17:57   #3

Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking

Quote:
Originally Posted by CampDavid View Post