Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2011, 14:16   #1

Boat: 1972 Grampian G26
Solar panel

Well, I think I've been given a great gift. A friend works offshore and gave me a new, surplus, bp solar model SX320J solar panel. It's a 20W unit. I have no experience with solar and don't really know what to do. I have a small (26') boat with a single 12V deep cell. I have a 12V charger/maintainer while in the marina. How do I hook this sucker up and is it good for my system? Thanks
53hemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2011, 16:14   #2
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Re: Solar panel

Wire it straight to the battery.

Its easy and will give you a little bit each day. But its only 20 watts so it will keep the battery charged while you are at work for the week.

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2011, 17:56   #3

Boat: 1972 Grampian G26
Do I need to install something inline to make sure it doesn't overcharge the battery?

Can I leave it hooked up when I plug in the battery charger/maintainer?

Thanks again
53hemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2011, 18:07   #4

Boat: 30ft Catalac 900 "Rubessa"

Yes, you'll need a regulator. This will stop over charging and also prevent the panel from actualy draining the battery when it's dark. These are pretty cheap and can be found on most marine suppliers listings, or even on Ebay.
Old 30-05-2011, 18:18   #5

Boat: Gemini 3200

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonmd View Post
Yes, you'll need a regulator. This will stop over charging and also prevent the panel from actualy draining the battery when it's dark. These are pretty cheap and can be found on most marine suppliers listings, or even on Ebay.