Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-07-2016, 03:09   #1

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
SmartGauge -- Real Life Experience

I've been using this device for several months of continuous cruising now.

I am still convinced that amp-counting battery monitors are practically useless (I removed, then finally sold my Victron one). That's not to say that they are not capable of giving any useful information at all, but by the time you keep them in proper calibration and interpret them properly you will have expended a lot more effort to get a lot less precise information, than you can get by other means.

The SmartGauge is widely praised as a superior approach to battery monitoring, and is used by military and commercial operations, has been thoroughly tested by different people including our own MaineSail, all with the results that this device gives a much better picture of the state of your batteries.

This all may be true, HOWEVER -- my experience has been that I am getting practically zero information from the SmartGauge, which I was not getting from simply monitoring system voltage and referring to a simple table taken from the Trojan Batteries site.

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1040281.jpg
Views:	396
Size:	400.4 KB
ID:	128418

Name:	P1040282.jpg
Views:	361
Size:	401.6 KB
ID:	128419

Name:	P1040283.jpg
Views:	343
Size:	413.6 KB
ID:	128420

I used system voltage plus the table for several years, and checked the accuracy several times by taking specific gravity measurements.