Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-10-2010, 16:53   #1

Boat: 57ft Steel Expedition Vessel
Simple Wiring Diagrams

Hi

I have a requirement for a simple wiring diagram.

I are rewiring my yacht from top to bottom and need to know where I could find some simple answers and a diagram to suit my needs.

Essentially I have a glass yacht with no engine (therefore no anodes)
1 400w Wind Genny (12 or 24v)
Two 12v batteries running parallel
ten LED lights in total (interior & nav etc)
1 12v water pump
1 x GPS
1 x Autopilot
4 x cigarette plugs for laptops etc
1 x switchboard

My question is, do I need a controller for the wind genny (and what do controllers do).

I have never done a rewire before (i've done basic nav lights in small fishing boats, changed engines in cars and subsequently changed plugs in wiring harnesses to suit the new alternators etc). I need to know things such as the wires from the battery, do they go directly to a bus bar and then to fuses or the other way around. is their any tricks people have learnt along the way that they would incorporate if doing a rewire on their boat.

Thanks in advance

Damien
S/V Sea Witch
Dame.n.Jess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2010, 17:12   #2

Boat: 46' custom cat "Rum Doxy", Roughwater 41"Abreojos"
Damien,

Hopefully some smart people will reply, but in the meantime I will chime in. You will likely need a controller for your wind gen if yours does not have one already built in. Mine is an Aero4gen and it does need an external controller. Mine diverts energy to a "dump resistor" when the batteries are charged. I am told the Air-x has an internal regulator but couldn't say for sure. Best to let us know what you have and someone will know.