Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-07-2009, 16:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
Shorepower and dc Wiring Runs

i have picked a spot in my boat to put my new waeco cooler but i need to run some dc wiring to it. there is already a shorepower 110 outlet in place but was wondering if there is any problems running dc wiring next to ac wiring. seperate bundles of course but any other issues i should be concerned with.
__________________

__________________
davevancat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 17:50   #2
Registered User
 
Jentine's Avatar

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cruising on the hook
Boat: Beneteau 393, "Blackthorn"
Posts: 744
Images: 5
I have multiple AC and DC circuits in the same conduits with no difficulties. The only problem I could see is if there is a short.
__________________

__________________
Jim

We are what we repeatedly do.
Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit."
--Aristotle
Jentine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 18:20   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
thanks kinda what me thought just didnt want to end up with a interference issue or something
__________________
davevancat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 19:05   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
FrankZ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Bristol 35 Bellesa
Posts: 13,565
Images: 1
If they will run that close together you may wish to use yellow for your DC negative wires so there is no confusion when you, or anyone else, is working on it.
__________________
Sing to a sailor's courage, Sing while the elbows bend,
A ruby port your harbor, Raise three sheets to the wind.
......................-=Krynnish drinking song=-
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2009, 19:41   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
shouldnt be a problem the ac is anchor marine 14/3 in its own white conduit dc will be in its own conduit. but will mark it just for safety sake. thanks everyone
__________________
davevancat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2009, 03:43   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,583
Images: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by davevancat View Post
... wondering if there is any problems running dc wiring next to ac wiring. Separate bundles of course but any other issues I should be concerned with.
Excepting the normal cautions regarding the de-rating of bundled conductors (and below), there’s no problem with running AC & DC wiring in close proximity.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jentine View Post
I have multiple AC and DC circuits in the same conduits with no difficulties. The only problem I could see is if there is a short.
You should never run circuits fed from different sources* in the same conduit. This is a serious life-safety issue!

* AC & DC Panels, in this case.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2009, 05:06   #7
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Tellie's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hollywood, Fl.
Boat: FP Athena 38' Poerava
Posts: 3,046
You should never run circuits fed from different sources* in the same conduit. This is a serious life-safety issue!

Exactly!
Tellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2009, 05:45   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tellie View Post
You should never run circuits fed from different sources* in the same conduit. This is a serious life-safety issue!

Exactly!
Some Standards will allow it. The main requirement is that the cable insulation for all conductors must be rated to the highest voltage present. To be clear your DC wiring insulation must be rated at not less than 110V AC.
__________________
chala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2009, 08:29   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
if i remember correctly both my 110 and 12 volt wire are marine grade rated to 600v and 105C temp.
__________________

__________________
davevancat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commercial 25hp outboard for sale - runs great! Primacat Classifieds Archive 0 23-11-2007 08:39
Man’s Dream Sails into Heavy Seas, Runs Aground SailGal Cruising News & Events 21 27-04-2007 07:56
Generator, Shorepower, & Battery Charger Charlie Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 15 24-02-2007 04:44



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.