Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-12-2018, 13:50   #1

Boat: Hans Christian 43T Telstar keel
Shore Power & ELCI

Fellow sailors,

I have been reading posts here for many years. Rarely have I ever posted (maybe never). I am trying to clear up some contradictory information I keep getting. I am in the process of rewiring my 1985 Tayana 37 Hull #450. I am working on finalizing my electrical drawings and need help with a question... Before I ask the question a little background on me. I am a computer engineer who previously was a component level electronics engineer. I also worked for the Cable TV company for many years and held every technical role in the company you could. I have done whole house wiring and know the building code around residential electrical and have also read the ABYC standards for marine electrical.

My plan... I am installing a simple AC system on my boat. 30A 120V service. I have no plans for an inverter. I am simply going to have a 30A 120V SmartPlug on my boat. That will go to an isolation transformer and then to my AC panel. The AC panel will simply feed the water heater, battery charger and 7 outlets. That is it.

My question... Reading the ABYC standards they call for ELCI protection for the boat. I have been told by a surveyor and marine electrician that I DO NOT need an ELCI breaker between the shore power inlet and my isolation transformer as long as it is 10' or less. A simple 30A breaker between shore power and the isolation transformer will do. Again, that breaker needs to be installed at, or less than, 10 feet from the outlet. But no need for ELCI. This seems to make sense to me.