Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2011, 10:48   #1
Registered User
 
SV Demeter's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cruising Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Wauquiez Amphitrite 43- Demeter
Posts: 1,164
Round Four-Conductor Wire for Tri / Anchor / Strobe

I have one of the Aquasignal series 40 Tricolor stacks on my boat. This fall we will be rewiring the masts. Currently the stack is wired with two runs of 14 gauge two conductor wire. I would like to replace this with a single run of 4 conductor wire preferaby in a round jacket that will seal nicely in a blue seas deck gland. Im using the Dr. LED bulb conversions so im thinking 14 gauge is okay from a voltage drop perspective. Anchor makes a 5 conductor wire in 14 gauge that is tinned but Im not sure I need the extra conductor. I suppose another option would be to use 3 conductor and a diode but I would rather not introduce another level of complexity.
__________________

__________________
SV Demeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:50   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
FrankZ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Bristol 35 Bellesa
Posts: 13,565
Images: 1
Re: Round 4 Conductor Wire for Tri/Anchor/Strobe

Have you tried Genuinedealz > 14/2 14/3 14/4 14/6 AWG Round Marine Grade Tinned Wire Boat Cable
__________________

__________________
Sing to a sailor's courage, Sing while the elbows bend,
A ruby port your harbor, Raise three sheets to the wind.
......................-=Krynnish drinking song=-
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:53   #3
Registered User
 
SV Demeter's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cruising Eastern Caribbean
Boat: Wauquiez Amphitrite 43- Demeter
Posts: 1,164
Re: Round 4 Conductor Wire for Tri/Anchor/Strobe

Wow that was fast. Does Gordo know your operating on this frequency? Thanks!
__________________
SV Demeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:54   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
FrankZ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Bristol 35 Bellesa
Posts: 13,565
Images: 1
Re: Round 4 Conductor Wire for Tri/Anchor/Strobe

Every once in a while someone will sneak one past him... It doesn't happen often though.
__________________
Sing to a sailor's courage, Sing while the elbows bend,
A ruby port your harbor, Raise three sheets to the wind.
......................-=Krynnish drinking song=-
FrankZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 11:56   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Baltimore, USA
Boat: Irwin Citation 39 'Chesagansett'
Posts: 159
Re: Round 4 Conductor Wire for Tri/Anchor/Strobe

Here's a alternative thru deck connection:
Aqua SignalŪ: 5-Pole Deck Plug Connection - Watertight
__________________
steve_hendry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anchor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coax in Place of Single-Conductor Wire ? yzlian Marine Electronics 10 16-03-2011 13:00
For Sale: Sea Anchor, Storm Tri-Sail, Storm Jib Gailwind Classifieds Archive 15 24-10-2010 07:24
Tri-vial Tri-maran Questions brak Multihull Sailboats 5 08-06-2010 16:54
photocell for masthead tri-anchor worthwhile? Catamount Construction, Maintenance & Refit 3 07-02-2006 11:44



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.