Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2017, 15:24   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Boat: Hans Christian 33
Posts: 37
Rewiring Question - Breakers and Fuses

Currently rewiring our old '82 Hans Christian 33. Its evident that previous owners have all managed to "contribute" to its current state. So I've installed Blue Sea's 8084 AC/DC distribution panel. The problem is I only have 15 DC breakers but need 17 DC circuits. Would it be advisable to combine (for example) the tricolor mast head light and the anchor light on one breaker? ..switching them separately with an additional switch panel with fuses?

In short - Can I combine any two/three branch circuits on one breaker given the circuits don't exceed the breaker's 15 amp rating?

Thanks in advance...
RobMinton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 15:27   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
boatpoker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario or Bahamas
Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Posts: 3,325
Re: Rewiring Question - Breakers and Fuses

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobMinton View Post

In short - Can I combine any two/three branch circuits on one breaker given the circuits don't exceed the breaker's 15 amp rating?

Thanks in advance...
You are correct.
__________________
That hysterical laughter you hear as you sail a way in your "new" boat ..... is the seller.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 16:02   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 623
Re: Rewiring Question - Breakers and Fuses

...and the smallest wires in the circuit match the breaker.

You can also use sub-panels, which can really simplify the wiring. E.g. all the gadgets at the nav station could go to a fuse block inside the nav station that is in turn fed from a single breaker in the panel. That way one breaker/switch brings the whole station to life. (As long as said gadgets have their own switches so that you can turn one off if not needed.) All of my LED cabin lighting goes to a switched terminal strip in each zone, and those switches all lead to a common bus that is fed from a breaker. My cockpit instruments (sea talk bus) actually require a sub-panel because the autopilot has different fusing requirements from the instruments. So one might as well hang a power point and some lazarette lighting on it too, without extra cables running back to the panel.
toddster8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuses, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuses or Breakers jbinbi Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 23-03-2016 10:23
Hydraulic-magnetic and Magnetic Overcurrent Circuit Breakers chrysm Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 17-03-2014 01:13
Fuses vs Circuit Breakers US1Fountain Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 21 31-01-2011 07:14
DC Overcurrent Protection (Fuses or Breakers) GordMay Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 1 10-02-2006 07:02
breakers vs. fuses Steve Rust Construction, Maintenance & Refit 1 02-12-2003 04:51



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.