Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-09-2011, 14:04   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
Replacing Wire in Hull Liner

i have a broken ground wire for my cabin lights in the ceiling of my catalina unfortunately its in the hull liner i cant pull the old ground wire out its stuck in there is there a preferred method or tips of any sort on how to fish a new one in here. thanks
__________________

__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 14:10   #2
Eternal Member
 
Chief Engineer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: North of Baltimore
Boat: Ericson 27 & 18' Herrmann Catboat
Posts: 3,798
Re: replacing wire in hull liner

Short of trying to get a fish tape thru...I don't know.

Is there any stub of a negative wire left?

Or picking up the ground from another light?
__________________

__________________
Chief Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 14:15   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
Re: Replacing Wire in Hull Liner

there is the stub of the old wire but i think that after 30yrs its seized in there it also feeds the 2nd light in the main cabin the hole coming through the ceiling is barely big enoyugh for the + and - wires to fit
__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2011, 13:13   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
Re: Replacing Wire in Hull Liner

does anyone have any suggestions other than running a new conduit along the ceiling as i would really love to keep the wires hidden. thanks
__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2011, 13:36   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,586
Images: 240
Re: Replacing Wire in Hull Liner

You can try inserting a short piece of fish tape in a drill motor, and drill out a channel between the liner and deck. If itís a longer run, start with a shorter length, and increase length of fish in one or two foot increments, until the entire run is cleaned out.
It's a pain in the ass, and not always successful.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2011, 13:38   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
Re: Replacing Wire in Hull Liner

its about a 6ft run and the current ground wire is stuck in there good.
__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 20:45   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 132
Re: Replacing Wire in Hull Liner

Maybe you can pull out to posit a wire or using it to pull a tracer through and then pull to wires back. I’ve managed to do that. Just my two cents, Mike.
__________________
Florida Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 20:56   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
Re: Replacing Wire in Hull Liner

i have tried but both wires are stuck. i contacted catalina they told me that my best bet was to run a new wire under a teak cover. not what i wanted to hear but may be my only option
__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 08:38   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newport News VA
Boat: Egg Harbor sedan cruiser 1970
Posts: 829
Re: Replacing Wire in Hull Liner

How about a thick steel rod 1/4 inch, sharpen the end to a blunt point
and pound it under the liner.

I assume this is some kind of glued liner board onto fiberglass?
__________________
sdowney717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2011, 01:02   #10
Registered User
 
Maxs's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Costa Rica
Boat: Catalina 38
Posts: 122
Michael , You won't be able to pull those wires no matter how hard you try. . That's why Catalina replaced the liner light fixtures for bulkhead mounted lights around 1980...... I want to install lights right there, so I already made my mind that I'll have to install the track channel...
__________________

__________________
SVESTANCIA
Maxs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hull liner

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reaching Hull Speed . . . hard-a-ground Monohull Sailboats 34 12-11-2012 15:33
Replacing Speed / Depth Transducer Cruisin Cat Marine Electronics 6 27-08-2011 09:34
Thru Hull Threads w1651 Health, Safety & Related Gear 35 18-08-2011 09:11
For Sale: 1983 Vancouver 25 Hull #1 lazystar@aol.com Classifieds Archive 0 06-08-2011 19:16
How to 'Sound Out' a Hull . . . Gone2long Construction, Maintenance & Refit 11 01-08-2011 17:10



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.