Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-06-2019, 10:18   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 81
Replace 12V Wire

We have bought a new VHF and need to replace the existing 12v wire.

Tips on how to open the contacts are welcome

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5140.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	84.2 KB
ID:	194948Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5141.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	421.5 KB
ID:	194949
__________________

carlager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2019, 10:47   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 4,106
Re: Replace 12V Wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlager View Post
We have bought a new VHF and need to replace the existing 12v wire.
Why do you need to replace the existing 12v wire? Can't you just splice a connector to it for the new VHF radio? Your wiring looks fairly new, so the existing should be just fine, I would think.
__________________

Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2019, 10:55   #3
Registered User
 
wingless's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Boat: 2000 Searay 380 Sundancer
Posts: 744
Re: Replace 12V Wire

Gotta love how none of those wires are labelled...
__________________
2000 SeaRay 380 Sundancer Mercruiser
454 MAG MPI Horizon 380hp / Westerbeke 7.0KW BCGB
many cool mods
wingless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2019, 11:47   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 81
Re: Replace 12V Wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lake-Effect View Post
Why do you need to replace the existing 12v wire? Can't you just splice a connector to it for the new VHF radio? Your wiring looks fairly new, so the existing should be just fine, I would think.


The new wires are thicker
carlager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2019, 12:21   #5
Registered User
 
Spot's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Minnesota, USA
Boat: 21' trailer sailor & 8' sailing dinghy
Posts: 225
Re: Replace 12V Wire

Turn off the power before servicing.
Blue ones look like loosen the screw.
Gray ones may be poke something into the slot.*
Is there a manufacturer's name and part number on any of the plastics?
What sort of boat? Factory wiring or ???

*hard to tell not being there. That is where I google the part# to get the instructions.
__________________
Big dreams, small boats...
Spot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2019, 16:35   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 4,106
Re: Replace 12V Wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlager View Post
The new wires are thicker

What's the gauge of the old wire, and what's the new gauge? The new wire might not really matter, if the old wire is of sufficient gauge. VHF power requirements haven't changed.

Anyway, to replace the wire you need to trace the old one back to the panel or junction; you'll probably find that the VHF positive is on a screw terminal, and the negative is on a bus bar or that monster blue terminal block. Some of those gray terminals look like they have some sort of push tab to release the wire.


Make/model/year of the boat would help.
Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2019, 17:50   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,558
Re: Replace 12V Wire

stick small screwdriver into retangle hole facing right photo. push / hold it sideways to open internall connector..

you'll either get it open or break it while learning.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 07:48   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 81
Re: Replace 12V Wire

Spoke to a guy in ICOM. He assured that I can use the same wires as on my ICOM m411.

Thank you to all of you for your tips
__________________

carlager is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
110V(3 wire) panel split to 230V(3 wire) and 110V(3 wire) breakers? BrettB Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 22 29-04-2019 00:30
Replace rod rigging or switch to wire? Eyr Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 40 05-06-2018 17:26
Lines - To replace, or not to replace? TooCoys General Sailing Forum 31 25-04-2017 13:32
Replace wire halyard with dyeema? Pendragon35 Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 17 22-12-2016 18:34
Replace Broken Forestay Wire Cat 27 caery Monohull Sailboats 11 06-05-2014 00:59



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.