Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-10-2009, 01:14   #1
Registered User
 
BruceC's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Boat: Hurley 22 Gala
Posts: 22
Images: 1
Re-Running Wires / Cables ?

Hi All

I am doing a major internal refit, leaking gunnal bolts and chain plates.

As I have had to remove all the lockers I can easily re run the wiring, I think I read somewhere that eletic wires and transponder cables should not run together.

My question is can transponder cables run with coax?

Also should I keep the coax away from external VHF speacker wire?
how far?

Thanks

Bruce
__________________

__________________
BruceC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 14:53   #2
Registered User
 
Fishman_Tx's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Beeville, Tx.
Boat: 1969 Morgan 40 Cruising Ketch "Lady Catherine II", 1973 Bristol 34 - "Our Baby"(RIP), Catalina 22
Posts: 876
Images: 12
Dang, guess no one wanted to play with this one..
AC wiring and RF(analog) don't do well together but DC wiring is ok. You may want to consider data and RF separation but I'm not sure of the effect if any. Digital signals not affected by much of anything. If it was me, I would if I could afford it. It's always nice to be able to have extra outlets data hookups, lighting, etc. Especially if your wiring is a cobbled up mess with lots of wire nuts and such.

If you gone that far, go one step more....
__________________

__________________
Fish
"Behind every great man there is a woman, rolling her eyes."
But not for long! Now she's gone!
and peace and tranquility reign forever!
1969 Morgan 40 Cruising Ketch
Fishman_Tx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 02:45   #3
Registered User
 
BruceC's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Boat: Hurley 22 Gala
Posts: 22
Images: 1
Hi Fish

Thanks, I asked a mate of mine who works at a boat yard the same question a week ago and he told me this last evening when we were playing cards the same you.

The thing about a refit is, I well do that well its stripped out and I well do that now I can and so on and so on! Its like starting from the begining.

All the best

Bruce
__________________
BruceC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 03:24   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
Transducer cables (and other very low energy sources of RF noise) can generally be run in close proximity to AC & DC cables (even bundled); but I prefer a slight (as little as 2") separation.
Radio antennae co-axe cables can generally be run as near as 12" to others.
Try to keep all electrical cables at least 3 feet from magnetic compass’ (except binacle light power).

I always separate cables as much as possible, when the opportunity presents itself.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 07:02   #5
Registered User
 
James S's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yemen & Lebanon... the sailboat is in Lebenon, the dhow is in Yemen
Boat: 1978 CT48 & 65ft Cargo Dhow
Posts: 5,816
Images: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by GordMay View Post
Transducer cables (and other very low energy sources of RF noise) can generally be run in close proximity to AC & DC cables (even bundled); but I prefer a slight (as little as 2") separation.
Radio antennae co-axe cables can generally be run as near as 12" to others.
Try to keep all electrical cables at least 3 feet from magnetic compassí (except binacle light power).

I always separate cables as much as possible, when the opportunity presents itself.

I'll be relocating my new fluxgate under my sole and about 8 inches behind tha mast.....the mast lights and wind instrument wiring enter the mast very near to there....is that going to be a problem since its way less than 3 ft.
__________________
James
S/V Arctic Lady
I love my boat, I can't afford not to!
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 07:33   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishman_Tx View Post
Dang, guess no one wanted to play with this one..
AC wiring and RF(analog) don't do well together but DC wiring is ok. You may want to consider data and RF separation but I'm not sure of the effect if any. Digital signals not affected by much of anything. If it was me, I would if I could afford it. It's always nice to be able to have extra outlets data hookups, lighting, etc. Especially if your wiring is a cobbled up mess with lots of wire nuts and such.

If you gone that far, go one step more....
(Ears perking up)...wire nuts? Never on boat wiring.
__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 08:49   #7
Writing Full-Time Since 2014
 
thinwater's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Deale, MD
Boat: PDQ Altair, 32/34
Posts: 4,337
A practical precaution when locating a compass is to take conventional compass...

Quote:
Originally Posted by James S View Post
I'll be relocating my new fluxgate under my sole and about 8 inches behind tha mast.....the mast lights and wind instrument wiring enter the mast very near to there....is that going to be a problem since its way less than 3 ft.
And try various locations, power on, and power off. Yes, you can compensate for fixed deserbances, but power distrubances are tough.

Never having had a keel boat, what is the effect of have a compass near a big lump of metal? Yes, lead is non-magnetic, but that does not mean there is no influence. Or is the keel iron? Ask someone who knows.

Also, what is the probablity of losing the compass if it goes under water due to moderate flooding? I am assuming you also havea conventional compass and that this one is for the autopilot.

I have mounted them in a bow sail locker twice, and area that was relativly free of wiring and metal (the chain was in the other bow).
__________________
Gear Testing--Engineering--Sailing

Writing full-time since 2014.
Bookstore:http://sail-delmarva.blogspot.com/20...ook-store.html
thinwater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 09:54   #8
Registered User
 
James S's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yemen & Lebanon... the sailboat is in Lebenon, the dhow is in Yemen
Boat: 1978 CT48 & 65ft Cargo Dhow
Posts: 5,816
Images: 139
Thanks Thinwater.....all mess with it before final installation.
I have deep bilges...at least 3ft at the mast, so water shouldn’t be a problem...
__________________
James
S/V Arctic Lady
I love my boat, I can't afford not to!
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 09:56   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by James S View Post
I'll be relocating my new fluxgate under my sole and about 8 inches behind tha mast.....the mast lights and wind instrument wiring enter the mast very near to there....is that going to be a problem since its way less than 3 ft.
A fluxgte compass is a very sensitive instrument, and may be affectred by nearby metals & conductors.
Consult your manual for specific separations.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:00   #10
Registered User
 
James S's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yemen & Lebanon... the sailboat is in Lebenon, the dhow is in Yemen
Boat: 1978 CT48 & 65ft Cargo Dhow
Posts: 5,816
Images: 139
For sure I'll read what ever comes with it.......Its in the mail....thanks.
__________________
James
S/V Arctic Lady
I love my boat, I can't afford not to!
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:19   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
For instance, Raymarine's quick guide indicates 3'-2" (1m).
RAYMARINE
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:20   #12
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: Van DeStat Super Dogger 31'
Posts: 7,331
For the record, the fluxgate will NOT be affected by non-ferrous (actually non-magnetic) metals UNLESS the metal is carrying an electrical current flow.
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 23:05   #13
Registered User
 
James S's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yemen & Lebanon... the sailboat is in Lebenon, the dhow is in Yemen
Boat: 1978 CT48 & 65ft Cargo Dhow
Posts: 5,816
Images: 139
Thanks Gord.
If I understand the pictures correctly they show that it is OK to be installed on the mast but not OK to be with in 1 meter of elect. wires.
Seems most masts have wires inside them.
This is the thing that drives me crazy about instructions....HELLO Raymarine!
__________________
James
S/V Arctic Lady
I love my boat, I can't afford not to!
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 04:05   #14
sitting on the dock of the bay

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,513
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to gonesail
Quote:
Originally Posted by James S View Post
I'll be relocating my new fluxgate under my sole and about 8 inches behind tha mast
watch out for the keel .. if it is lead then it probably has other metal in it that can and will throw the compass off.
__________________
sometimes the things that may or may not be true are the things a man needs to believe in the most.
gonesail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 04:12   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
I donít recall ever seeing a fluxgate mounted 3 feet away from all wiring.
I wouldnít worry too much about DC lighting feeds, but a wind instrument or radio antennae cable might be problematic.
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cables

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tension on Shrouds and Cables? Gary Hegg Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 0 14-10-2009 21:31
How Much Tension on Cables kcmarcet Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 8 05-09-2009 04:58
Running electrical wires through the deck? gbanker Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 30-12-2008 18:32
Extending my transducer cables... Boracay Marine Electronics 4 05-08-2008 21:25
current share with 2 wires northerncat Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 14 26-03-2008 13:04



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.