Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2017, 09:49   #1
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Boat: Cape Dory, 31
Posts: 63
Images: 2
Panel Box

Will be installing additional panel box.

Fuse or circuit breaker?
Do I have to go directly to battery or tie into existing box?

Thanks in advance,

hr
__________________

hrsail920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 10:37   #2
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 26,408
Re: Panel Box

Depends on how much amperage your pulling in that box.
I installed an additional 8 CB box so that everything could be on a home run circuit, so my amp draw is small. I hate fuses, CB's are much better in my opinion. since amp draw is small I tied into the buss bar of the original panel.
I added things like a Wirie Pro, cockpit lights etc. and other such low amp stuff but I wanted them on their own circuit.
__________________

a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 11:13   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Boat: Cape Dory, 31
Posts: 63
Images: 2
Re: Panel Box

Basically, want to move GPS, Auto pilot, Stereo, etc. to additional panel. I also will be adding Garmin Radar.
hrsail920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 05:07   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 11,804
Re: Panel Box

Yes, only big amps require fuses and direct homing to source
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 09:50   #5
Registered User
 
Colin A's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: East of the river CT
Boat: Oday Mariner 19 , Four Winns Marquis 16 OB, Kingfisher III
Posts: 644
Send a message via Skype™ to Colin A
Re: Panel Box

I like to use a breaker on the old panel as a sub panel feed. I also prefer breakers.
__________________
mysite: Colinism.com
Colin A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuffing box. Hot box. Free as a Bird Propellers & Drive Systems 8 05-08-2013 02:33
For Sale: Sharp Solar Panel 123W - New in Box cool2848 Classifieds Archive 23 14-10-2010 10:14
Stuffing box or re-stuffing the box / dripless Dave in Eugene General Sailing Forum 10 28-12-2007 15:45



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:24.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.