Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-04-2015, 14:42   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: RI
Boat: Tartan 3800
Posts: 122
No Tach with Balmar

Boat just launched and I started it up today and I have no tachometer. I have a Balmar with the MC 614 regulator. I looked it all over and it is all connected as usual and fuses were all fine. Its a Westerbeke 38B4. Nothing was disconnected except the batteries over the Winter.
__________________

__________________
bmm32005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 14:49   #2
Registered User
 
cwyckham's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Boat: Niagara 35
Posts: 1,870
Re: No Tach with Balmar

I think the 614 has a separate tach output. Are you using that to your tach?

Is the alternator putting current into the batteries?
__________________

__________________
Chris
SailMentor.com - Become the Confident Skipper of Your Own Sailboat
cwyckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 15:25   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: RI
Boat: Tartan 3800
Posts: 122
Re: No Tach with Balmar

No current was going into batteries


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
bmm32005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 16:10   #4
Registered User
 
cwyckham's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Boat: Niagara 35
Posts: 1,870
Re: No Tach with Balmar

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmm32005 View Post
No current was going into batteries


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
I don't think the Balmars show anything on the tach unless the field is hot. If there's no current going in, then you'll get zero on the tach (often get a zero on start-up due to delayed cut-in).

Try turning on some good current hogs like lights and fridges to get the alternator to kick in. Your tach should come to life.
__________________
Chris
SailMentor.com - Become the Confident Skipper of Your Own Sailboat
cwyckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 16:16   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
Blue Stocking's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Georges, Bda
Boat: Rhodes Reliant 41ft
Posts: 4,114
Re: No Tach with Balmar

12 or 14 pole alternator makes a difference to some of these regulators.
__________________
so many projects--so little time !!
Blue Stocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2015, 14:28   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ensenada, BC, Mexico
Boat: 1983 Freedom 39 Deck Salon
Posts: 22
Re: No Tach with Balmar

my Balmer had a grey unlabelled rocker switch that needed to be switched up, then tach and charger worked. Mine was located by the battery monitor, I discovered its function by tracing wires from the regulator. The surveyor even missed this one.

Good luck.
__________________
monroe0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2015, 15:11   #7
Moderator
 
cabo_sailor's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tarpon Springs FL
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 1,905
Re: No Tach with Balmar

On my boat with a high output alternator the tach won't work until I blip the throttle a time or two. In neutral of course. 😜

Won't have to do it again until I restart the engine.

Rich


Sent from my iPhone using Quantum Entagelment
__________________

__________________
cabo_sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
balmar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Balmar ars-5: Not Working, No Tach granche1 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 28-04-2011 17:45
Yanmar 2GM20F tach Glenn Whaley Engines and Propulsion Systems 4 12-07-2008 04:47
Yanmar intermitant tach and instruments Celestialsailor Engines and Propulsion Systems 6 24-07-2007 20:50
Tach slow/alternator not producing starfish62 Engines and Propulsion Systems 15 28-05-2007 16:04
Anyone know about debugging a flaky tach? Paul L Engines and Propulsion Systems 2 31-07-2005 06:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.