Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2014, 16:29   #16
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,051
Re: No power to engine panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustic Charm View Post
The fuse block has four permanent fuses in it. As someone else suggested I'll put a meter across them and double check them rather than just view them. I doubt it's got anything to do with the fuse block as I tried each fuse and got no power on any of them. Relay is easiy to get in and out so I'll check that too.
It appears to be a solitary fuse?
__________________

__________________
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 16:36   #17
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,051
Re: No power to engine panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
It appears to be a solitary fuse?
Emmalina seems to know something about it?
__________________

__________________
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 16:36   #18
Registered User
 
Stu Jackson's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC (Maple Bay Marina)
Posts: 6,385
Re: No Power to Engine Panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustic Charm View Post
...The main engine harness is a single plus in, can't really get that wrong as it only goes in one way.
Painting & grounding could well be the issue. But anytime I hear :single PLUG (sic) in..." I suggest you carefully inspect and in most cases replace the plugs with hard connections. Many boat builders used trailer connections for entire wire harness. The connectors are the proverbial weak link. Good luck.
__________________
Stu Jackson
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, (Maple Bay Marina) SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 16:41   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
Boat: Allied Princess, 36-Scallywag
Posts: 690
Images: 8
Re: No Power to Engine Panel

If the area where the started is attached to the block is painted, the starter will not complete the electrical circuit. A small gauge wire runs from the ignition switch to the solenoid. When I replaced my starter I accidentally broke the wire that powered the instrument panel and ignition switch. When I fixed that wire the engine started but the tachometer did not work. I thought it was the alternator and had it tested. The alternator tested okay. The fix was to replace a fuel switch that activated the output of the alternator. If you do not have a meter, you can test a circuit using a 12v bulb. I do not like electrical problems.
__________________
scallywag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 16:49   #20
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,334
Re: No Power to Engine Panel

One thing to try is to open, clean and resecure the multi wire connector. I've had those cause just that issue before... albeit wasn't a Yanmar....
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 16:49   #21
Registered User
 
Rustic Charm's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Boat: Bieroc 36 foot Ketch
Posts: 4,898
Re: No power to engine panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadence View Post
It appears to be a solitary fuse?
It's like a see through plastic block with four permanent fuses. When one blows you plug the wire into the next. When all four have gone you buy a new block. All four of mine look fine though.
__________________
Rustic Charm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 17:04   #22
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,051
Re: No power to engine panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by scallywag View Post
Is not the solenoid grounded to the starter which is bolted onto the engine block? Was the area where the starter is bolted on to the block painted?
As you and I remember the solenoid is grounded to the starter. There are two wiring diagrams for his engine. One shows more than one wire to the solenoid? No description of the relay workings? Can you remember the solenoids not even mounted to the starter? They required a ground.
__________________
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 00:21   #23
Registered User
 
Rustic Charm's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Boat: Bieroc 36 foot Ketch
Posts: 4,898
Re: No Power to Engine Panel



Well, after checking both earths were nicely ground, and a nice young electrician who was working on his boat next to mine came and ran a multi meter over all the connections, I decided to move an earth wire on the back of the alternator, to a different negative post, my Reece Martin has two negative posts, and it worked. Neither of us could work out why, but moving this wire gave power to my instruments immediately and allows the switch to power the starter.

This wire appeared to be the only wire available that I may have out back wrong. And it made a huge difference.
__________________
Rustic Charm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 07:50   #24
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,051
Re: No Power to Engine Panel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustic Charm View Post


Well, after checking both earths were nicely ground, and a nice young electrician who was working on his boat next to mine came and ran a multi meter over all the connections, I decided to move an earth wire on the back of the alternator, to a different negative post, my Reece Martin has two negative posts, and it worked. Neither of us could work out why, but moving this wire gave power to my instruments immediately and allows the switch to power the starter.

This wire appeared to be the only wire available that I may have out back wrong. And it made a huge difference.
__________________

__________________
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Shore Power Inlet, Battery Charger, A/C Panel pressuredrop Classifieds Archive 6 22-04-2011 01:31
News: How to Make the Most of Solar Power (Increase Your Panel Efficiency) E-P Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 12-08-2010 23:59
Flat Panel TV Power Consumption? bbhflts Marine Electronics 1 17-05-2009 03:45
Solar Panel Power Estimation Annapolis Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 24-07-2007 12:49



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.