Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-05-2019, 01:57   #1
Registered User
 
Dieselmech's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
No power from 3kva generator

Is this a little too much corrosion for around the stator?
I am getting 7v a/c to the outlet.
Ive checked all the possible voltages ie from brushes while running, L1 L2 and R1 R2.
I would love some feedback

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190515_163239.jpeg
Views:	84
Size:	70.9 KB
ID:	192083Click image for larger version

Name:	20190514_162306.jpeg
Views:	92
Size:	72.9 KB
ID:	192086Click image for larger version

Name:	20190514_162259.jpeg
Views:	75
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	192087
__________________

Dieselmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 03:37   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 7,234
Re: No power from 3kva generator

Is the gen capacitor regulated? If so, what does the capicator measure in uF bs what is printed on the cap.

Have you measured the resistance of the windings? One end to the other? Used a megohm-meter to measure resistance to mass?
__________________

Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 04:23   #3
Registered User
 
Dieselmech's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
Re: No power from 3kva generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailmonkey View Post
Is the gen capacitor regulated? If so, what does the capicator measure in uF bs what is printed on the cap.

Have you measured the resistance of the windings? One end to the other? Used a megohm-meter to measure resistance to mass?
Automatic voltage regulator. Any ideas on how to test out of machine?
I got 40.8ohms across where the brushes run on rotor(slip rings)?
The stator tested out ok i believe L1 and R1 1.0 ohms, L1 and R2 2.0ohms, R2 and R1 1.2ohms.Click image for larger version

Name:	1557918656436.jpeg
Views:	54
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	192088Click image for larger version

Name:	1557918684950.jpeg
Views:	52
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	192089
Dieselmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 04:57   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 7,234
Re: No power from 3kva generator

What about resistance to mass?

The avr should output a nominal field voltage when energized. Depending on what the control voltage is (12vdc?) you may be able to turn on the avr and see if itís passing 12volts directly to the brushes
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 06:35   #5
Registered User
 
Dieselmech's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
Re: No power from 3kva generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailmonkey View Post
What about resistance to mass?

The avr should output a nominal field voltage when energized. Depending on what the control voltage is (12vdc?) you may be able to turn on the avr and see if itís passing 12volts directly to the brushes
Ok I well check this tomorrow and report back
Dieselmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 17:31   #6
Registered User
 
Dieselmech's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
Re: No power from 3kva generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailmonkey View Post
What about resistance to mass?

The avr should output a nominal field voltage when energized. Depending on what the control voltage is (12vdc?) you may be able to turn on the avr and see if itís passing 12volts directly to the brushes
Im only getting 1vdc out of pos and neg avr. Doesnt sound right to me. What do you think?
Dieselmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 17:36   #7
DoÖ or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,599
Re: No power from 3kva generator

I think you lost the residual magnetism required to start the genset output.

If so, the good news is that it's easy and cheap to restore it. Just google "flashing the field" to get guidance; even Youtube videos on the subject
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 18:12   #8
Registered User
 
AKA-None's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lake City MN
Boat: C&C 27 Mk III
Posts: 584
Re: No power from 3kva generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
I think you lost the residual magnetism required to start the genset output.



If so, the good news is that it's easy and cheap to restore it. Just google "flashing the field" to get guidance; even Youtube videos on the subject


Pretty common on older gensets
__________________
Special knowledge can be a terrible disadvantage if it leads you too far along a path that you cannot explain anymore.
Frank Herbert 'Dune'
AKA-None is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2019, 18:23   #9
Registered User
 
Dieselmech's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
Re: No power from 3kva generator

Yeah I've tried this with no luck.
Dieselmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2019, 06:18   #10
DoÖ or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,599
Re: No power from 3kva generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dieselmech View Post
Yeah I've tried this with no luck.
Are you sure you successfully got a good amperage of 12V into the field windings? Measure resistance of the windings and look for a small spark as you connect a battery to the leads/terminal. You can even measure DC amperage and when present, let it go for a while.

I believe that last time I even had to flash the field with the genset running to get it to excite. Once it goes, let it run for a while.

the 9 Volt output you see is -the- typical telltale sign of lost residual magnetism.

EDIT: look out that the AC output doesn't bite you. I wish someone had warned me ;-)
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2019, 02:13   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: The gambia
Boat: Domp 8.60
Posts: 31
Re: No power from 3kva generator

Reading through the posts I would say that your avr is dead put dc voltage from a battery or so onto the wires coming from the brushes and start the motor you should have some higher

voltage coming from AC side. If not check continuity on the rotor coil and also on the stator coils bear in mind that there is probably a diode in place on the rotor it should be intact and working.
__________________

Milko Berben is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Portable Inverter Generator or Reg. Generator? Hatch Liveaboard's Forum 54 15-06-2017 23:05
Generator vs Inverter Generator (Genset) Jon4399 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 30 11-01-2011 09:13
Portable Generator vs Solar Panels or Wind Generator Sweet As Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 120 16-09-2010 18:27
Any way to convert a DC Generator to an AC Generator? Latitude9.5 Engines and Propulsion Systems 13 06-04-2007 11:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.