Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-03-2011, 08:14   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Panama
Boat: FP Belize 43
Posts: 124
Need a new capacitor in Panama

Hello,

So, I tested the capacitors according to the Fischer Panda Manual and it appears that I have a bad one. The Dealer in Florida said this is the proper refit:

IC34.09.02.040H - Capacitor - 50uF Stud M12x16 Size 50x124mm - $77.50/list each

I'm in Panama without a Generator and am wondering if I can use any available capacitor with same specs?

Thanks,
Meck
__________________

__________________
"Learn the laws so you can break them properly." DL
Meck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 08:40   #2
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: Van DeStat Super Dogger 31'
Posts: 7,331
Re: Need a new capacitor in Panama

Providing the capacitance is the same (or nearly the same), the voltage rating is the same or higher AND the physical mounting suits, then yes.
__________________

__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 10:07   #3
Registered User
 
svHyLyte's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tampa Bay area, USA
Boat: Beneteau First 42
Posts: 3,434
Images: 25
Re: Need a new capacitor in Panama

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meck View Post
Hello,

So, I tested the capacitors according to the Fischer Panda Manual and it appears that I have a bad one. The Dealer in Florida said this is the proper refit:

IC34.09.02.040H - Capacitor - 50uF Stud M12x16 Size 50x124mm - $77.50/list each

I'm in Panama without a Generator and am wondering if I can use any available capacitor with same specs?

Thanks,
Meck
Meck--

You might want to contact Jeff Till at Panda (jtill@fischerpanda.com). I have found him to be very helpful.

FWIW I recently had one of the capacitors fail on our generator and it turned out that the control box had been installed incorrectly by the installer. It needs be vertical. The capacitor tubes are filled with oil and there is a tiny breather hole at the top. By mounting the control box horizontally, the oil in one of the capacitors leaked out ruining the device.

N'any case, Panama isn't the end of the earth and Jeff may be able to help you out.

s/v HyLyte
__________________
"It is not so much for its beauty that the Sea makes a claim upon men's hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air, that emanation from the waves, that so wonderfully renews a weary spirit."
svHyLyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 17:46   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,830
Re: Need a new capacitor in Panama

On some capacitors, there is also an AC rating.

That's probably why it has a stud mount.

Just dumping in any old 50 uf electrolytic might get you an exploded capacitor shortly after firing it up.

I'd wait for the real thing.
__________________
Memento,homo, quia pulvis es, et in pulverem reverteris.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2011, 19:38   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,780
Re: Need a new capacitor in Panama

Air conditioners use the same equipment.

......And.....Does this mean I was right from the other thread?!?!?
__________________
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
Panama

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transportation from Panama City Airport to Port of Colon, Panama Kirstee Atlantic & the Caribbean 8 10-09-2014 11:20
Crew Available: Panama City, Panama Couple - Available Immediately jtress Crew Archives 2 16-04-2011 16:50
Puerto Rico to Panama Canal & Summer in Panama ? Talefin General Sailing Forum 3 13-06-2010 00:33
Crew Available: Seeking Crew Position - Currently in Panama City, Panama mgibson1973 Crew Archives 0 11-04-2010 13:58
Split Capacitor on Windlass Motor Terminals - Why? Zul Anchoring & Mooring 2 16-11-2009 09:14



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.