Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-04-2018, 18:02   #1
S/V rubber ducky

Boat: Hunter 410
Mystery Wires

I’m an engineer type and feel it isn’t acceptable to not know the systems on my boat. But .........Today while replacing my inverter/ charger I finally after having this boat for 7 years answered the question of 2 “mystery” wires I have come across over the years. In the past I couldn’t really figure out what these wires were so always just hooked them up as they were “because”. That now only leaves 1 circuit that I’m aware of that I dont fully know where it goes ( I know what it does but not how it is hooked up).

How many others can feel me on this.
Old 21-04-2018, 18:40   #2

Boat: Makela,Ingrid38,Idora
Re: Mystery Wires

Yesss...the mystery wires. My boat has speaker wires installed in the engine space. Could the PO have felt that the yanmar noise was not loud enough and needed to be amplified? An experiment with active noise reduction? I know, they are below the waterline...sub sea whale mating calls! Perhaps active barnacle removal using hiphop music..I just don't know.
IdoraKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2018, 18:45   #3

I'm with ya! I bought my boat 6 months ago and have been working on it every day since. One of the PO had an elaborate sound system in it, but it had been removed at some point prior to my purchase of it. Who ever removed it, just cut wires and twisted and taped some together when they installed a plain replacement stereo. Probably removed a mile of wiring that lead to nowhere. I cant stand not knowing where every single wire originates and ends at. Ive removed countless cabinets chasing down those wires that are not connected on one end. Partially anal, partially safety conscience.
US1Fountain is offline   Reply With Quote