Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-12-2012, 11:25   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BVI
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 34
Posts: 57
Lofrans Tigres install

Just ran into a tough snag while installing a new Lofrans Tigres windless. The manual calls for 50mm(1/0) into the housing and to the motor. I tried using 2/0 and there is no way to bend it around the motor. Even the 1/0 they call for seems like a big stretch. The cables have to come into the housing, past the two threaded case bolts, and to the top of the motor. Has anyone installed a Tigres? How did you route inside the case?

I have 2/0 from the batts to a bus bar in the anchor locker(35 feet one way). I hate to run that much copper for safety and switch to 1 gauge for the final 3 feet. Am I over engineering this?
__________________

__________________
kmaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 11:38   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kimberton PA
Boat: Cabo Rico 38 / Bayfield 32
Posts: 573
Images: 1
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

The resistance of the cable (and therefore its losses) is proportional to the diameter *and* its length. Therefore, a short (as short as possible) pigtail of the smaller gauge cable will not appreciably increase the cable loss. If the manufacturer specifies 1/0 to the motor terminals, then use that and transition to the 2/0 via terminal block in as short a distance as possible. Adding the short pigtail of smaller cable does not negate the loss savings of the larger and much longer attached cable. Hope that answers your question and makes sense. BTW, are you sure that 2/0 is large enough for that long of a run? Remember, the run is the *full* circuit, so the length of one of the longer cables x 2.
__________________

__________________
Saltyhog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 11:43   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BVI
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 34
Posts: 57
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

Thanks, Saltyhog.

Not concerned about dropping down in size and understand there will be no side effect. However, bending 1/0 through the case seems impossible. Am I correct that 50mm^2 is 1/0?
__________________
kmaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 12:00   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,365
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

Go down one more size yet for the short cable.
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 12:28   #5
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Living on dirt waiting for our new yacht to be built.
Boat: Half built Bestevaer.
Posts: 10,619
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

I helped fixed one of these or a friend a few months back and I can imagine 50mm2 wire would be very difficult to fit.
The voltage drop over a small length of slightly thinner wire is rarely a problem. You only need a few feet of wire at the most. The join between the different guages is a problem, however. It is in the worst spot, exposed to water.
What are the lengths of the wire run ?
There are also a considerable number of different cables whith the same sized conductors. Some are considerably more flexible with thinner insulation than others. Some of the "welding cables" are very flexible and thin. While not tinned this may be a satisfactory solution.
__________________
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 12:50   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 114
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

Ran into that very problem on the last install of the same windless. What we did was to run 1/0 wire, three of them if I remember correctly, inside the
motor cover. I had to flatten them between 2 pieces of boards, being careful to not split the covers, hot water helps the covers be soft and workable. They just need a little help to make the 2 bends around the motor to the studs. We then added heat shrink for insurance.
Those wires were run through the deck to the control solenoid and breaker which was as close as possible. We then stepped up to the larger wire which ran to the batteries.
I must say that if time and a machine shop was available I would rather make a spacer plate about 2 inches thick. You could use the gasket for a template.
Hope that helps
__________________
PEACETIME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 12:50   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BVI
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 34
Posts: 57
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

Thanks, Noelex. The busbar is up high against the bulkhead on the dry side. All chain on starboard and nylon on port - dry because the nylon will rarely be used). Busbar will be will be covered and sealed.

I went with 2/0 for a 30ish foot run because I had plenty of room, the run is very straight(down the bulwark) and I like to overbuild things. A few bucks today prevents problems down the road. Not concerned at all with running smaller gauge from the bus bar. Just wanted to see what people were realistically able to get into the Tigres.
__________________
kmaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 12:51   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BVI
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 34
Posts: 57
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

Very helpful.
__________________
kmaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 12:57   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 114
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

I don't believe those engineers ever tried to wire one as per their instructions!
Why didn't they put the studs on the bottom instead ? That would make for a very easy install with larger wires. Engineershttp://www.cruisersforum.com/images/smilies/banghead.gif
__________________
PEACETIME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 13:04   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BVI
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 34
Posts: 57
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

Yeah, seems like a quality piece of equipment but I do not understand why they placed the posts there or why they didn't alter the case.
__________________
kmaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 08:25   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,583
Images: 240
Re: Lofrans Tigres install

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmaz View Post
...Am I correct that 50mm^2 is 1/0?
Yes.
#1 AWG ≈ 42.39mm2
# 1/0 AWG ≈ 53.46mm2
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lofrans

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.