Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-07-2016, 06:42   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Boat: Catfisher 28
Posts: 136
kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

I have 2 kyocera 215 solar panels.

One of them is giving a voltage reading but no amps.

If I connect the 2 panels in series or parallel I see amps only from the working one.

I read somewhere that it could be a connection issue somewhere but if the panel is connected in series wouldnt I not see it then? Or would the working on still work?

Any other ideas or suggestions to test.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
deepthought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 13:23   #2
Zil
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 203
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

I don't understand how, volts but not amps? Do you have it on a load?
__________________

__________________
Zil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 13:52   #3
Marine Service Provider
 
newhaul's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: puget sound washington
Boat: 1968 Islander bahama 24 hull 182, 1963 columbia 29 defender. hull # 60
Posts: 2,962
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

What is the voltage reading on the panel with no amp output
__________________
Non illigitamus carborundum
newhaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 15:32   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Boat: Catfisher 28
Posts: 136
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

Yes I dont understand how there can be voltage and no amps.

There is around 28-30v on each panel.

Only one of the panels seems to put out amps.

I connected them together and one at a time through an outback 80 mppt charge controller.
__________________
deepthought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 16:46   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,580
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

A high resistance connection (not completely open) in the defective one would still measure full open circuit voltage to a meter as the meter's input resistance is 11 million ohms. If you put even a very light load on it, the voltage will drop to almost zero.
Measure the panel with it disconnected from the controller.
Look for a corroded or loose connection on that panel or its wiring connectors.
__________________
Seen on Facebook:

"The Flat Earth Society Has Members Around the globe"

senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 16:48   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Boat: Catfisher 28
Posts: 136
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

if the problem was corroded or loose connection shouldnt the 2nd panel not work when connected in series?
__________________
deepthought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 16:53   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,580
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

I agree. Open circuit would get full double voltage, but no amps.
Parallel would get voltage and current of one panel (and maybe slightly more current).
If it worked correctly, twice the amperage of one panel.

Something's fishy with the first post.
__________________
Seen on Facebook:

"The Flat Earth Society Has Members Around the globe"

senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 16:58   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Boat: Catfisher 28
Posts: 136
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

If I connect the 2 panels in series I see the voltage double but the amp output is still of only one panel does not double or even go up half.
__________________
deepthought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 17:00   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Boat: Catfisher 28
Posts: 136
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

Example:
Single Panels:
- Panel 1: 30v 8amps
- Panel 2: 30v 0amps

2 panels in parallel:
- 30v 8amps

2 panels in series:
- 60v 4amps
__________________
deepthought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 17:13   #10
Marine Service Provider
 
newhaul's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: puget sound washington
Boat: 1968 Islander bahama 24 hull 182, 1963 columbia 29 defender. hull # 60
Posts: 2,962
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

OK check the panel with no amps is it actually thirty volts or is it higher when not hooked to anything.
It appears that you likely have a barely corroded or shorted connection and when you hook the panels in series the amps you see are due to the bypass diodes in the panels. Hard to diagnose from the better coast of the USA. Give mainsail a jingle he is on your coast.
__________________
Non illigitamus carborundum
newhaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 17:17   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Boat: Catfisher 28
Posts: 136
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

Ok I will see what the warranty coverage is before I dig out silicon they poured into the box and trying to fix my self, just thought maybe some one experienced this issue or had some other suggestions.

Currently in the Caribbean but thanks for the contact info.

Thanks everyone for the info.
__________________
deepthought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 18:19   #12
Registered User
 
HankOnthewater's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Australia
Boat: production yacht, suitable for deep blue water ;)
Posts: 249
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

As mentioned before, having voltage and no supply of current is often caused by connections with a medium to high resistance.

Maybe another way checking the panels without the controller is:
get a load, ie globe 24 Volt or even a 12 Volt one (but that may blow), and check if it lights up (when connecting to one panel output). If the globe lights up (or blows) then you have Voltage and Amps.

If you did the above with new wires directly from the panel, and you have Volts and Amps on each panel, then your existing wiring needs attention.
If you are still having problems than the fault is inside the control (junction) box or the panel itself. Is there a diode fitted in the control box? Check that diode or bypass that for such test.

Edit: I see that while I was writing this, previous posters referred to diodes as well.....
__________________
Wishing you all sunny skies above, clear water below, gentle winds behind and a safe port ahead,
and when coming this way check http://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Albany,_Australia
HankOnthewater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 19:19   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Boat: Catfisher 28
Posts: 136
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

Will try tomorrow connecting a 12/24v load directly and report. Unfortunately I cant get into the junction box as it is all silicone'd up right now (how it came). I am also not sure what kind of diode or if there is one in the junction box.
__________________
deepthought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2016, 10:38   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Boat: Catfisher 28
Posts: 136
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

Ok this is VERY strange to me.

I tested with the load test on the multi-meter (2amps) both panels.
I connected a LED light to the panel and it comes on.

I connected the panel back to the controller and nothing.
I then connected the LED and the controller and 2amps registered on the controller. I then pulled the LED out and immediately there was no more amps to the controller.

Any IDEAS?
__________________
deepthought is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2016, 11:18   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
Re: kyocera Solar Panel Volts no Amps

What is the controller connected to after the led is removed? If nothing obviously there will be no current.
__________________

__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
kyocera, solar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1000 Watts at 240 Volts AC is How Many Watts at 12 Volts DC resilientg Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 8 30-01-2013 21:14
Kyocera Solar Panel Dealer in Panama City? Tday01 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 7 27-11-2012 05:24
Just installed 1 Kyocera 245 watt solar panel Panamajames Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 04-06-2012 17:29
Up-Converting Voltage from .56 Volts to 12.6 Volts schoonerdog Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 18 05-04-2010 04:30


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.