Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2013, 11:41   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: still in a roll of fiberglass around Cape Town
Boat: Leopard 40 (new model)
Posts: 1,201
Re: Kohler Generator Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Dockhead,

From your description it appears your generator does not now have an expansion tank. It must be very old if it did not come with one from the original manufacturer. You may have an issue where the water you are adding is simply replacing what has been forced out the expansion type pressure cap. I would recommend that you verify whether or not the generator requires an expansion tank and proper expansion type pressure cap. If it was designed to have an expansion tank then seriously consider restoring that feature.
I agree on the recommendation. I have been on two very expensive boats that had a similar issue with a Cummins genset that was supposed to have an expansion tank (provided by manufacturer) installed separately but the builder did not install it. If you do not let the genset cool down without load for a few minutes the lack of expansion tank will cause loss of coolant every time it boils over upon shutdown..

Cheers
C
__________________

__________________
svlamorocha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2013, 11:58   #17
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,737
Re: Kohler Generator Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Dockhead,

From your description it appears your generator does not now have an expansion tank. It must be very old if it did not come with one from the original manufacturer. You may have an issue where the water you are adding is simply replacing what has been forced out the expansion type pressure cap. I would recommend that you verify whether or not the generator requires an expansion tank and proper expansion type pressure cap. If it was designed to have an expansion tank then seriously consider restoring that feature.
Hi: it does have an expansion tank.
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.