Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-03-2013, 15:37   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Padre Island, Tx
Boat: Hunter, 31-foot
Posts: 81
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Syserenity
IstaBreeze 500.... need help, who´s got experience...

Hi to all
In order to independance my power source from the engine while cruising, I have been evaluationg and after information from here and other Forums I decided for the IstaBreeze 500. The unit arrived and we´ve installed it already. The installation guidelines were poor, very poor; basically they say level the thing out, install the battery connection + to +, - to -, the three lines coming down from the generator does not matter in the order they go. So, we´ve done as instructed. It has 2 lights, a red one for Action and a orange one for Light on, charging battery, Light off, battery full and braking.

Well, we had so far already 30 miles gusts in the Gulf of Mexico and the thing does very sparely turn. It more likely twists around and goes wild, then actually turning the generator.

I´ve asked the factory (IstaBreeze || Wind Turbine) and they´re response was, Thank you for the information and it should have a break installed! I suspect they did not understand my German, since they are Turkish....

Who had experience with the installation of a Istabreeze 500 and had maybe the same experience.... is it like, that the three wires coming down do not matter in what secuence?
Does the unit may has some transportation blocking, which we haven´t been made aware by the manufacturer?
The whole thing seems is blocked, who knows how to unblock the generator?

Many thanks to all of your information and experiences!
__________________

__________________
Syserenity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2013, 19:13   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: California
Posts: 7
Re: IstaBreeze 500.... need help, who´s got experience...

I don't have any experience with the IstaBreeze 500, in fact until I decided to install an Apollo 550 wind turbine (WT) 3 months ago, I didn't know anything about wind turbines. I have been using my WT for about 2 weeks and did some bench testing for 2 weeks before that. The Apollo 550 has 3 output wires that deliver AC power. I connected those 3 wires to the input side of an AC/DC rectifier. The sequence of the 3 wires could be anything. The rectifier had a 2 lead DC output. I used a drill motor to spin the WT 1000 rpm and it produced 6.5 amps while charging a 12V battery. When I installed the WT (with a 4.5 foot dia blades, rectifier and a amp/volt meter) on to my travel trailer, in parallel with an existing 250W solar system, I only got 0.3 to 0.7 amps in 6 to 23 knots of wind. There is 10.8V between any two of the 3 WT output wires during the 6 to 23 knots. I don't know why I have such low output and am taking measurements attempting to find out. Any suggestions and data you have collected would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
windabled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2013, 19:31   #3
Registered User
 
Dsanduril's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Pacific
Boat: Outremer 50S
Posts: 1,451
Re: IstaBreeze 500.... need help, who´s got experience...

It makes no difference on the three wires from the generator, they are AC.

What is your battery voltage? The controller has the automatic brake switch which will shut down the generator if it thinks your batteries are full. You can check this, very carefully, by disconnecting the AC wires from the controller. This will also disconnect the brake switch. If the generator starts to spin you should either have a helper turn it away from the wind and then re-connect, or short the wires together to activate the brake. If the generator starts to spin these wires will be live, so be very careful.

I do not want to offend, but are you sure the blades are connected to the hub in the correct direction?
__________________
Dsanduril is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2013, 06:33   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Padre Island, Tx
Boat: Hunter, 31-foot
Posts: 81
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Syserenity
Re: IstaBreeze 500.... need help, who´s got experience...

I have made the same test with the drill and got no output at all. The action lamp on the regulator of the WT isd always on, even if the WT is not connected ?????? The manufacturer says will help, but I wann go sail not do a GREEN ENERGY Project. I´m getting tired of these companies. Now the company Defender Marine in the USA are to deliver the Inflatable and the Outbord and put the delivery on 30-60 day????? What kind of companies are these?? Just discounters or what..... Big Internet companies in Marine Business seem to be a fraud all over.....
__________________
Syserenity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2013, 20:43   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Padre Island, Tx
Boat: Hunter, 31-foot
Posts: 81
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Syserenity
Re: IstaBreeze 500.... need help, who´s got experience...

IstaBreeze is definitely a fraud. I have started an Internet campaign and now numerous customers come up asking the company to clear, why their product does not produce energy.....the company does not even respond......legal prosecution is under way....
__________________
Syserenity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2017, 02:20   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Re: IstaBreeze 500.... need help, who´s got experience...

hey guys,

i purchase IstaBreeze 500 from Germany and i just install it last week with installation was every thing smooth but the out put power it giving me only 5.5 Max , please advice as im new to wind turbine . i haired a lot about IstaBreeze but its really non of product is working ?
__________________
defender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2017, 04:28   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
Re: IstaBreeze 500.... need help, who´s got experience...

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, defender.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 17:39   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 569
Images: 2
Re: IstaBreeze 500.... need help, who´s got experience...

Quote:
Originally Posted by defender View Post
hey guys,

i purchase IstaBreeze 500 from Germany and i just install it last week with installation was every thing smooth but the out put power it giving me only 5.5 Max , please advice as im new to wind turbine . i haired a lot about IstaBreeze but its really non of product is working ?
Apparently fraud, as reported above. I just wonder how they survived YEARS without prosecution...
__________________

__________________
Useful as a fireproof bottom paint...
GTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.