Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2015, 13:03   #1

Boat: Macgregor 26M in SF bay, Bayliner 175BR in JAX FL
Is there interest in bi-facial high wattage panels?

I'm relatively new to sailing. I've seen boats with multiple solar panels attached to various contraptions. Looking at websites selling solar to marine market, I noticed that they provide low wattage, which explains the contraptions. I'm a co-founder of a Silicon Valley solar company. We make our own panels that are sold for kW-MW installations. Our run of the mill panel is rated 360W and we have panels up to 500W per panel. The rating is for light coming only from the front. However our panels are bi-facial, meaning we also generate power from light reflected to the back of the panel, for an average of 15% boost. The attached picture is of a 2.6MW installation in Vermont, totally covered with snow. Normal panel would have generated zero power. This installation showed 900KWhr due to back reflection. We are not set up for individual sales, but I wonder whether there would be an interest in such a product. Seems ideal to me since it would reduce the number of panels you would need and provide lots of boost from light reflected from water and hull. I would greatly appreciate comments.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1427918502754.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	25.7 KB
ID:	99838  
jbpatents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2015, 13:12   #2

Re: Is there interest in bi-facial high wattage panels?