Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-01-2008, 17:56   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lisbon Portugal
Boat: Beneteau 393
Posts: 7
Inverter or Kipor Generator

I coffe maniac and I would like to install on my boat a nespresso coffe machine 1200W 220V. My main engine runs with an Alternator 115A and i have 2 Batteries 120Ax2.
It looks mutch more confortable the Inverter but the consuption is hight.
With the new Kipor silent Generator with 2000w continus Sinewave we have a 30Kg to move arround.
Please advise
Sory for my lausy english
Regards from Portugal

SAADA
__________________

__________________
SAADA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 18:22   #2
Registered User
 
skipperaris's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nafplio, Greece
Boat: Gib'Sea, 422, 42 ft, Erato
Posts: 176
Images: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to skipperaris Send a message via Skype™ to skipperaris
Your "lausy" english is fine.

Your question is very understandable but if coffee is your requirement why not get an espresso coffee pot that will work on your gas cooker? I have two of those on my yacht. A small one that will make one cup of espresso and a bigger one for when I have guests.

I have had a Kipor which was good until it failed and the local representatives could not repair it, could not even diagnose it... I was very grateful I got it from my local chandler who simply accepted to have it back and refund me!

But assumming yours will work forever, it still means you have to have fuel for it on board, for ever. It is a hassle and it is dangerous!

Inverters are easier in a way. I have four of them on my yacht. When they work they work fine. But they need a well charged battery.

Think about it before you go ahead and do something.
__________________

__________________

skipperaris

web site
skipperaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 18:59   #3
Registered User
 
S/V Illusion's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lakewood Ranch, FLORIDA
Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 1,693
I thought a "yacht" would have multiple generators
__________________
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 21:04   #4
Registered User
 
seafox's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: new zealand
Boat: Lotus 10.6
Posts: 1,270
Images: 26
I am anchored in a bay in the Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand typing this reply. I have a 1kw Kipor and a 500w inverter. I never use the inverter. The kipor is running now on the transom. It is as quiet as a dishwasher machine. I have it connected to my laptop and it is also connected to a 25amp charger on my batteries at the same time. My wife has a 900w hair dryer that we use when her hair is wet at night. The 1kw kipor handles it no problem. At normal revs (it decides how much load there is and adjusts the revs) it only uses 2.6lts per 7 hours.
I have had it for 6 months or so and it has now done about 50 hours. They are cheap (NZ $1050) and whenever it craps out I will be definitely buying another one.
__________________
"Very well, you hand it over and we'll put your town to our rudder and ne'er return" Captain Barbossa, Black Pearl, Pirates of the Caribbean.
seafox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 21:20   #5
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,053
Is that the Chinese knock-off of the Honda? (Which I've heard Honda is furious about since there are legal issues involved?)

Kipor-US doesn't mention where they are made, which makes me think they are cleverly trying to hide "China". Kipor.com's web site is "service unavailable" right now. It would be interesting to hear form someone who has run one for 500-1000 hours, to see how or if they hold up a bit longer.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 21:21   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
Alan Wheeler's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marlborough Sounds. New Zealand
Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
Posts: 8,038
Images: 102
Quote:
I thought a "yacht" would have multiple generators
What you call a yacht is not what we and many other places in the world call a yacht. A yacht in our language is a Sailboat in yours. :-)
__________________
Wheels

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 02:37   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,583
Images: 240
Try
Kipor’s Exclusive Distributor in North America Kipor North America
Coast Distribution System (Kipor North America)
350 Woodview Avenue, Suite 200
Morgan Hill, California 95037
Phone:
1 (806) 910-8511
Fax: 1-888-441-2708
Web: Kipor North America

Wuxi Kipor Power Products Co., Ltd. WWW.KIPOR.COM
Jingyi Road,Wangzhuang Industry Area,New District,Wuxi Wuxi Jiangsu 214028 China
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 05:17   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lisbon Portugal
Boat: Beneteau 393
Posts: 7
For us also the same, I sail a Beneteau Oceanis 393
Carlos
__________________
SAADA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 05:39   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lisbon Portugal
Boat: Beneteau 393
Posts: 7
TKS for all your replyes
For the moment it looks that I will buy an inverter 1500 pure sine wave, since my yacht has an 115A alternator and 2 120A batteries for service purposes. My need for 220V is just a couple of minutes and if I run the main engine to load batteries it looks sufficient to maintain them on high charge level.

Concerning the choice between Honda and Kipor I just comment the following: What I pay for a Honda repair whose the same value of a new Kipor.

Regards
SAADA
Lisbon Portugal
__________________
SAADA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 09:35   #10
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,053
Gord, pardon some OT curiousity, but did you copy and paste the code including the link to Skype (on Kipor's phone number) or is there some Skype trickery that's adding it in, to everything on the forum or something like that? (Apparently now that eBay owns Skype, most/many eBay pages also actually try to open Skype on the reader's computer as they view the page. Agressive little fellows.)
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 10:42   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,583
Images: 240
I searched Kipor, went to their N.A. site, then cut/paste the url from the Google bar.
I Cut/paste the address & phone numbers from their contacts page.
What link to Skype?
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 11:03   #12
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,053
Gord-
When my browser loads this page, it takes a second but then the line in yur message that says "Phone...." blinks and changes to show a US flag to the left of the phone number, and a little green Skype logo (green ball with a white handset in it) to the right of the phone number. If I hover the mouse over it, it offers to call that number on Skype.
That could be a result of Skype (installed but not running) and MSIE7 here, but when I look at the source code for this web page, it also shows a Skype connection. Again, I don't know if the forum, or the browser, is putting that in, but SOMEone is cleverly trying to make Skype even easier than picking up the telephone. Let me see if I can repost some of the source code without it being "run"...

--------------------------
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html dir="ltr" lang="en">
<head>
<base href="http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
<meta name="generator" content="vBulletin 3.6.8" />
<meta name="keywords" content="Inverter,Kipor,Generator,Inverter or Kipor Generator, cruisers forum, cruisers forums, cruising, sailing forum" />
<meta name="description" content="I coffe maniac and I would like to install on my boat a nespresso coffe machine 1200W 220V. My main engine runs with an Alternator 115A and i have 2 Batteries 120Ax2. It looks mutch more confortable" />

<!-- CSS Stylesheet -->
<style type="text/css" id="vbulletin_css">
...
...
</fieldset>
<div> <a href="/forums/f14/inverter-kipor-generator-12295.html#" onclick="imwindow('yahoo', '2265', 400, 200); return false;"><img src="/ugala/forums/images/misc/im_yahoo.gif" alt="Send a message via Yahoo to skipperaris" border="0" /></a> <a href="/forums/f14/inverter-kipor-generator-12295.html#" onclick="imwindow('skype', '2265', 400, 285); return false;"><img src="http://mystatus.skype.com/smallicon/skipperaris" alt="Send a message via Skype&trade; to skipperaris" border="0" /></a></div>

... ....



<!-- message -->
<div id="post_message_127172">Try <br />
Kipor’s Exclusive Distributor in North America <a onclick="urchinTracker ('/outgoing/http_www_kipornorthamerica_com_');" href="Kipor North America" target="_blank">Kipor North America</a><br />
<b>Coast Distribution System</b> (Kipor North America)<br />
350 Woodview Avenue, Suite 200<br />
Morgan Hill, California 95037<br />
<i>Phone:</i> 1-866-910-8511<br />
<i>Fax: </i>1-888-441-2708<br />
<i>Web:</i> <a onclick="urchinTracker ('/outgoing/http_www_kipornorthamerica_com_');" href="Kipor North America" target="_blank">Kipor North America</a><br />
<br />
<b>Wuxi Kipor Power Products Co., Ltd.</b> <a onclick="urchinTracker ('/outgoing/http_www_kipor_com_');" href="WWW.KIPOR.COM" target="_blank">WWW.KIPOR.COM</a><br />
Jingyi Road,Wangzhuang Industry Area,New District,Wuxi Wuxi Jiangsu 214028 China</div>
<!-- / message -->


-------------------------
Interesting, Skype appears in the HTML for skipperaris but not Kipor. And Kipor's coding includes an "urchin tracker" ??

Shark infested waters all around?!<G>
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 12:21   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,583
Images: 240
The code means nothing to me - I'm an ignoramus.
Just revised my post - hand typed the phone number.
Does it still code the Skype (which I never saw)?
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 14:15   #14
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,053
Gord, mystery solved: It's a cute Skype trick. Apparently the installation installs a widget to IE7, which doesn't normally APPEAR on the toolbar. The add-in automatically highlights and flags anything it recognizes as a phone number with a country flag, a skype icon, and then links out so you can "dial" it by just clicking on it.

Pretty neat trick, I'll bet eBay gets a lot of business (they own skype) from this one. Pretty handy for Skype users too--just a bit sneaky that they don't make it clear what's being added.

And now back to Kipor...
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2008, 15:04   #15
Registered User
 
johneri1's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Newport, OR/Pocatello, ID
Boat: Newport MKII 30 - Solution
Posts: 192
Just a new guy's thoughts on Honda versus Kipor: sometimes, you get exactly what you pay for. . . . The Honda 2000i I just purchased was $945 US; how much cheaper than that could the clone be? Would you trust your well-being to the clone?
__________________

__________________
Eric
N30
johneri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter Interference Salacia Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 17 05-05-2011 12:23
Kipor Generators rsn48 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 33 11-10-2010 03:35
Any way to convert a DC Generator to an AC Generator? Latitude9.5 Engines and Propulsion Systems 13 06-04-2007 12:06
kipor generators KevinE Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 16 04-05-2006 19:45
New Inverter Question Greg B Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 09-08-2004 13:37



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.