Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-03-2009, 14:20   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
Inverter Installation Issue

am wanting to install my xantrek 1500 watt invertor on my boat. question i have is do i need to install any form of protection for it. my current setup is as follows . 110 shore power comes in to a 30 amp breaker from there to 2 plugs inside and 1 plug in the battery compartment for the battery charger. i would like to be able to wire in the invertor so that when not on shore power it would still provide 110 power to the 2 inside outlets but not the charger outlet. as well when i plug back into shore power do i need to worry about the invertor getting damaged or anything. any suggestions ?
thanks
__________________

__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 14:46   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,365
Be sure to put a big fuse in the cable from the battery to the Invertor. Pretty much no way to stop a fire in a big Battery cable......
__________________

__________________
Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 14:50   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
not too worried about the fusing issue im more concerned with when i hook up the 110 can there be any kind of backfeed that could fry the invertor.
__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 15:06   #4
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,055
Michael, on a 27' boat I wouldn't worry much about wiring them together. I'd just leave the systems separate and when you want to use the inverter--plug a short heavy extension cord over to it.

If you really MUST wire it all up together, go to an electrical supply house and ask them for a suitable switch. Tell them you need a 30-amp rated switch (since that's what the shorepower is) that can switch between two sources, to one output. That's the only safe and simple way to do it--but that switch may not be cheap.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 15:44   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,413
What you need to install is a transfer switch. This is similar in concept to a battery selector switch which allows you to select which batt will supply 12 volts to the system.

You would wire your shore power to one "side" of the transfer switch and the inverter to the other side. All the loads are connected to the "output".

Blue Seas makes several versions of these switches, for two 3 and even 4 sources I believe such as the 30 amp 2 sources on off 120V AC Rotary 30A OFF + 2 Sources - PN 1481 - Blue Sea Systems.

You will need to fuse or install a circuit breaker for both the shore power and the inverter. If you have other AC loads, such as a battery charger or a heater, you need to connect these as well. Your inverter may be too small to handle the additional loads which may ONLY be used when on show power.

In that case you would need to have a panel which has the 30amp main breaker and two or three breakers of less amps for the other loads including convenience outlets. A panel such as 120 Volt AC 2 Sources - PN 1208 - Blue Sea Systems is what you will also need.

here is a diagram for the above:
Attached Files
File Type: pdf H.pdf (135.5 KB, 188 views)
__________________
Sandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 16:05   #6
Registered User
 
Nauticatarcher's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mooloolaba, Qld
Boat: Islander Freeport 36
Posts: 396
We have our inverter wired into our boats system using a relay to switch Hotwater cylinder off when on inverter and on when on Shorepower or Genset, uses live from shorepower or Genset to work relay, saves us from manually having to switch off HW and accidentally flatten our batteries
__________________
Nauticatarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 16:12   #7
Registered User
 
Christian Van H's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Boat: Challenger Anacapa 42
Posts: 2,097
Images: 57
Michael, isn't this covered in the Xantrex installation guide?
__________________
www.anacapas.com

Here's to swimmin' with bowlegged women!
Christian Van H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 16:15   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
basic installation is covered but nothing about mulitple source inputs shore power etc...
__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 16:19   #9
Registered User
 
Christian Van H's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Boat: Challenger Anacapa 42
Posts: 2,097
Images: 57
Which Xantrex model is it?
__________________
www.anacapas.com

Here's to swimmin' with bowlegged women!
Christian Van H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 16:26   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
in a prowatt 1750 a few years old now but the owners manual for the new prowatts should be fairly similar. i found a manual which shows the diagram on how to add it to your existing ac system. now as far as a transfer switch do i need to purchase one specifically for marine or can i use something else. thanks
__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 16:37   #11
Registered User
 
Christian Van H's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Boat: Challenger Anacapa 42
Posts: 2,097
Images: 57
Hi Michael, here's a link to a manual that shows an automatic transfer switch installation for your unit: http://www.xantrex.com/web/id/411/docserve.aspx this will NOT cut out your charger circuit...you will need to do that yourself, or wire up yet another relay...
__________________
www.anacapas.com

Here's to swimmin' with bowlegged women!
Christian Van H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 16:41   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Boat: 27ft catalina
Posts: 492
thanks christian this manual has way more info .. can anyone recommend a simple transfer switch?
__________________
michaelmrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 20:01   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,848
lewmar make the switch you need. not cheap about $1oo. Unless your inverter is a pass tru unit If it sees shore power it will get killed
__________________

__________________
motion30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
installation, inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yanmar performance issue michaelmrc Engines and Propulsion Systems 14 09-08-2008 19:37
Newbie Issue elcubanito Monohull Sailboats 23 18-03-2008 20:31
Network Issue Announcement Andy R Forum News & Announcements 0 17-08-2007 00:05
Atomic 4 issue DaveK Engines and Propulsion Systems 23 03-09-2006 13:22



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.