Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2012, 14:24   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Aigina, Greece
Boat: Bavaria Vision 44
Posts: 88
Send a message via Skype™ to Kojiro
Installling an Inverter

I've been looking at a range of inverters on eBay and wondering oif there are any problems with installing (integrating ) one into the existing electrical system on my boat.

I've been looking at 1500/3000watt pure sine inverters.

Connecting to the batteries seems straight forward enough. However, the inverters seem to have only one or two standard power points for you to plug you appliances into....hence the need to run cables all over the place when needed.

I'm thinking that one should be able to open up and power point outlets and wire into the boats existing circuit.

Is that a sensible/reasonable thing to expect to be able to do?

Any held will be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Kojiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 14:30   #2
Registered User
 
deckofficer's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern and Southern California
Boat: too many
Posts: 4,198
Images: 4
Re: Installling an inverter

Inverters in that power range have both, an inside the chassis point to hard wire, and a couple of external plugs. Just so you know, expect a good spark when you first hook up both DC cables, there is a large cap that is going to get charged at the time of hook up.
__________________

__________________
Bob
USCG Unlimited Tonnage Open Ocean (CMA)
http://tbuckets.lefora.com/
deckofficer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 14:30   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,432
Re: Installling an inverter

Buy one with an internal transfer switch and install into an existing circuit.
__________________
DotDun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 14:30   #4
Registered User
 
Nemo55's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Punta Banda, Ensenada. and Canada
Boat: 28Ft Piver Encore, Tri-Maran, Anchored in San Diego.
Posts: 728
Send a message via Skype™ to Nemo55
Re: Installling an inverter

I say go for it, shouldnt be a problem as long as you keep your wiring color code correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kojiro View Post
I've been looking at a range of inverters on eBay and wondering oif there are any problems with installing (integrating ) one into the existing electrical system on my boat.

I've been looking at 1500/3000watt pure sine inverters.

Connecting to the batteries seems straight forward enough. However, the inverters seem to have only one or two standard power points for you to plug you appliances into....hence the need to run cables all over the place when needed.

I'm thinking that one should be able to open up and power point outlets and wire into the boats existing circuit.

Is that a sensible/reasonable thing to expect to be able to do?

Any held will be appreciated.
__________________
"The Truth Shall set you Free....But First it will Piss You Off"

http://nemo1955.blogspot.ca/
Nemo55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 16:48   #5
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Installling an inverter

Here is our inverter installation, The Trawler Beach House: Installing A Power Inverter . It's pretty straight forward but with ANY electrical work on the boat, you need to know what you are doing or hire a professional. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 04:15   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 101
Re: Installling an Inverter

usually i take a breaker from the 110v panel and feed the inverter with the neutral. then i seperate whatever breakers i want on the inverter,receptacles,microwave,refrig., from the panel. either there's jumpers or a solid bar, just isolate them. the important thing is you have to isolate the neutrals also, very important, along with whatever your putting on the load side.
__________________

__________________
tuberider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using an Electric Tea Kettle to Save Propane ? Ocean Roads Provisioning: Food & Drink 122 18-03-2016 09:26
Best Choice for an Autopilot ? Team Ryer Liveaboard's Forum 29 15-04-2012 13:17
An Australian in the USA - How To Do It ? cat man do General Sailing Forum 27 09-03-2012 22:55
Installling an Inverter Kojiro Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 07-03-2012 04:15
Instant Hot Water Dispenser - Better Than an Electric Kettle ? Fuss Provisioning: Food & Drink 2 04-03-2012 10:26



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.