Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2010, 22:06   #1

Boat: boatless atm
Send a message via MSN to bobfnbw
Installing BSS VMS - Alternating Current Question.....

Up to the install on the BSS VMS, which basically monitors voltage, current, tanks levels, bilge pump cycles etc. Replaces a link 10 that I had.
MY question is about installing the AC current transformer. It is supposed to be installed on the Line, before the loads. OK. I understand that, but I have a 120/240 v system. I am NOT a electrical engineer, but seriously want to understand what is happening here. Guess I am a bit 'short' on the theory aspect of it.
Here are some of the snippets from the install manual.

AC Current
In most cases the AC Current Transformer should be located on the main
AC feed before any other devices. See Current Flow in 120/240 Volt AC Systems - Resources - Blue Sea Systems
for more information on AC Current Transformer location. The location does
not affect state of charge (SOC) calculations.

I have read the resource on current flow in 240 volt systems, and find myself at odds at what I THOUGHT I KNEW about 240 v systems. And how to install this.
My understanding was that current flow was via the L1 or L2 or both, to the appliance, then back via neutral. That is of course how it is in a 120v system, and so, I understood it to just be twice that... L1+L2=240v. But the resource on the BSS site at Current Flow in 120/240 Volt AC Systems - Resources - Blue Sea Systems indicates something else.
So my question is twofold. And PLEASE, do not suggest that I get a qualified marine electrician to do this. I am not interested in that. I want to do it myself, and learn in the process, and perhaps other can learn as well.