Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2015, 10:12   #16
Registered User
 
wingless's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Boat: 2000 Searay 380 Sundancer
Posts: 487
Re: Idiot using a strobe light as an anchor light - Optolamp Amazonia

We were at a crowded anchorage on a holiday weekend years ago so we setup a random multi-color LED on the boat before taking the harbor tender ashore.

On prior years the ride back each boat owner ID'ed their boat as the white boat w/ the white light. This year each boat owner ID'ed their boat using mine as the point of reference.

The tender operator requested me to keep my light on all night...
__________________

__________________
2000 SeaRay 380 Sundancer Mercruiser
454 MAG MPI Horizon 380hp / Westerbeke 7.0KW BCGB
many cool mods
wingless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 17:13   #17
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: Idiot using a strobe light as an anchor light - Optolamp Amazonia

Thanks HS. That's worked (so far). We have it switched through the manufacturers switch as well as the pre existing anchor light switch. I usually leave them both on unless night sailing, and our last overnighter was a few weeks ago so it's been powered up for a few weeks. Switching off the existing switch for a day and back on yesterday it worked properly (no strobe) last night and tonight. Fingers crossed it's one of those temperamental electronics issues that just needed a reset..
Funny thing was after spending the evening ashore and heading back last night I was thinking, at least I'll be able to find my boat, the one with the strobe! There's about 200 boats anchored in le Marin.
__________________

__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 19:53   #18
Registered User
 
Terra Nova's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Marina del Rey, California
Boat: Freya 39 cutter- Terra Nova
Posts: 3,649
Re: Idiot using a strobe light as an anchor light - Optolamp Amazonia

Quote:
Originally Posted by monte View Post
...at least I'll be able to find my boat, the one with the strobe! There's about 200 boats anchored in le Marin.
You don't want to be "that guy", annoying 200 boats with his strobe.
__________________
1st rule of yachting: When a collision is unavoidable, aim for something cheap.
"whatever spare parts you bring, you'll never need"--goboatingnow
"Id rather drown than have computers take over my life."--d design
Terra Nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2015, 09:12   #19
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: Idiot using a strobe light as an anchor light - Optolamp Amazonia

Just a quick update as the issue is continuing randomly. I did receive a mail back from the supplier so will look into his recommendations below

"Sorry for the delay, this response was by mistake in drafts.

Please, you should check if there are any short circuit with the negative at the top (in the orange wire that you did not use), this cable must be well insulated. If the orange wire touches any part of metal and this is connected to the negative of the battery, the strobe lamp lights switch ON."
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2015, 10:17   #20
Moderator
 
cabo_sailor's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tarpon Springs FL
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 1,905
Re: Idiot using a strobe light as an anchor light - Optolamp Amazonia

My old tricolor had a strobe light and I've only used it once in 15 years for about 30 seconds to help a freighter figure out who was who.

Since some dirty bird destroyed the tricolor I'm replacing it with a std tricolor / anchor light. Strobes cost too much for such little use. Besides I'm changing my spreader lights to LED. I think for about $6 I can get a dimmer switch that can give a strobe effect. I'm more interested in the dimmer function.

Rich


Sent from my iPhone using Quantum Entagelment
__________________

__________________
cabo_sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anchor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: ACR Electronics Emergency Strobe SM-2 Buoy Light with Mount jdecris Classifieds Archive 0 12-01-2013 07:14
Round Four-Conductor Wire for Tri / Anchor / Strobe SV Demeter Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 4 10-05-2011 11:56
Lalizas Strobe Light S Y Tuppenny Health, Safety & Related Gear 1 06-04-2011 04:49
Personal MOB Strobe Lights 4runner Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 11 06-11-2009 10:53
Strobe problems....? CSY Man Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 10 22-12-2008 12:47



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.