Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2018, 01:14   #1

Boat: Condor Trimaran 30 foot
How to convert reading of amps into amp hours

Mr Brillance here,

Okay, so i bought a half way decent multimeter with the jaws. I have a new to me boat in San Carlos Mexico. I want to go Lithium, Solar, and maybe a small Ryobi or Honda generator.

I am a scientist in Health Care setting. But i have rebuilt 2 houses in the last 15 years with just about everything and anything you can think of. I ain't bragging. I'm just that poor. I have rewired multiple houses. One even had the porcelain knobs with bare wires up in the roof. What a miserable arse job that was. I digress.

Oh yah...back to the multimeter...sorry...So, I took one of our induction modules in the kitchen and placed a steel pan with water on it. Turned that sucker up to high power. Put the jaws of the multimeter on it and got an amperage reading. 1.7 amps.

To convert that reading to amp hrs I am assuming that i have to multiply that reading by 60 to see how many amp hrs it is consuming....did i get that right? So...1.7 X 60 =102 amp hrs?????

If i buggered that up set me straight...I am reading all the delicious threads on Lithium right now. It is amazing stuff. Thanks for your input...alan
alansmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 02:04   #2

Boat: Mascot 28 pilothouse motorsailer 28ft
Re: How to convert reading of amps into amp hours

Quote:
Originally Posted by alansmith View Post
Mr Brillance here,

Okay, so i bought a half way decent multimeter with the jaws. I have a new to me boat in San Carlos Mexico. I want to go Lithium, Solar, and maybe a small Ryobi or Honda generator.