Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2013, 15:59   #76
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by endoftheroad View Post
A 15amp fuse s recommended, I will install inline at the battery.
I will be using 10ga wire.
In the below picture should my leads to the batteries be larger than 10ga since they are carrying the load from both controllers to the battery?
If I don't get a reply I may not doubleup the wires from the terminal as is in the below picture.
And, What terminals on my 6 volt batteries that are wired in series do I connect the wires? At the far ends (pos and neg of course) of the 4 batteries?

Thanks





Jedi,
Can you help me with the above 3 questions?
My panels and controllers will arrive ups tomorrow.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3494507063.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	326.2 KB
ID:	61169  
__________________

__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 16:25   #77
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

Quote:
Originally Posted by endoftheroad View Post
Jedi,
Can you help me with the above 3 questions?
My panels and controllers will arrive ups tomorrow.
Thanks
let's see:

Quote:
In the below picture should my leads to the batteries be larger than 10ga since they are carrying the load from both controllers to the battery?
If I don't get a reply I may not doubleup the wires from the terminal as is in the below picture.
And, What terminals on my 6 volt batteries that are wired in series do I connect the wires? At the far ends (pos and neg of course) of the 4 batteries?
Tell me how long the cables from the controllers to the batteries will be and what the maximum current from each panel is? I can tell what size cabling you need from that info.

You should connect the negative to the shunt of the battery monitor, at the side of the switch panel, not the side of the batteries. The positive should connect to where the big positive from the breaker panel also connects to.

Post a picture of your battery bank so I can see what you have and comment on that.
__________________

__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 17:07   #78
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
Probably no more than 5 feet from controllers to batteries.
I wont have the battery monitor or shunt for about a week so I will be connecting to batt terminals temporarily.
Sorry but I'm not able to get a photograph at the monent.
I have 4 trojan t-105's wired in series in pairs at port and starboard beams at about 5 feet distance.
I'm wiring my controllers similar to Maine Sail's photograph, I can wire as he has from the controllers to the battery (piggyback) or I can carry each controller wires seperately to the batteries. I have already purchased 10-2 wire for the panels and 2 inline 15 amp fuses for use near the battery. If I do as in Main Sail's picture I would think I'd need heavier guage wire to the batteries and a heavier fuse but I have no knowlege of electricity.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1639248146.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	220.0 KB
ID:	61170   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3308987991.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	326.2 KB
ID:	61171  

__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 17:57   #79
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,848
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

Carl. if you feel you need any help just let me know . and I also have a small supply of wire and stand shrink wrap
__________________
motion30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 18:17   #80
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by endoftheroad View Post
Probably no more than 5 feet from controllers to batteries.
I wont have the battery monitor or shunt for about a week so I will be connecting to batt terminals temporarily.
Sorry but I'm not able to get a photograph at the monent.
I have 4 trojan t-105's wired in series in pairs at port and starboard beams at about 5 feet distance.
I'm wiring my controllers similar to Maine Sail's photograph, I can wire as he has from the controllers to the battery (piggyback) or I can carry each controller wires seperately to the batteries. I have already purchased 10-2 wire for the panels and 2 inline 15 amp fuses for use near the battery. If I do as in Main Sail's picture I would think I'd need heavier guage wire to the batteries and a heavier fuse but I have no knowlege of electricity.
Thanks
Okay, for 5' it makes 10' round trip so AWG10 is more than enough for both controllers. No need to double up. Put a 20-25A fuse in the line as near to the batteries as possible.

As you don't have the shunt yet, connect the negative to a negative busbar around or on your breaker-panel. The current will then automatically pass through the shunt when you install that.

Good luck!
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2013, 18:36   #81
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

Gotcha, Thanks Jedi.

Motion30, Thanks for the generous offer.
__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 16:27   #82
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
I did It!
I'm making electricity, LOTS of electricty.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1670413595.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	210.1 KB
ID:	61302   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-130488892.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	146.6 KB
ID:	61303  

__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 16:54   #83
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

Quote:
Originally Posted by endoftheroad View Post
I did It!
I'm making electricity, LOTS of electricty.
and it's free!
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 21:40   #84
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: daytona beach florida
Boat: csy 37
Posts: 2,844
Images: 1
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

it's amazing how many dirt dwellers have no idea that there are people out there living entirely (or partially) on solar power. they think it's still some kind of futuristic idea that may someday happen.
__________________
onestepcsy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2013, 22:00   #85
Registered User
 
deckofficer's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern and Southern California
Boat: too many
Posts: 4,198
Images: 4
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

Can never have too much solar. Photos by Richard Boggs.




__________________
Bob
USCG Unlimited Tonnage Open Ocean (CMA)
http://tbuckets.lefora.com/
deckofficer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 10:48   #86
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

I have a fan running, stereo at half throttle, and a VHF running.
My controllers are telling me my batts are full.
It's noon and the sun is shining.

What's up with that?

The Victron battery monitor comes UPS next week.

I have a Coolmatic Danfoss BD35F compressor that I am hooking up today if only I could figure what size fuse to use.
The previous owner had it wired to the batteries with no fuse.

Anyone know what size fuse to use?
I cant find much info online.
The compressor is in the engine room, copper tubing to the control/distribution unit in the icebox.

Thanks
__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 11:36   #87
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

I'm such a doark, I just found it, it requires a 15 amp fuse.
Not sure why my unit has 8ga wire for a 3-1/2 foot run.
__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2013, 20:28   #88
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: daytona beach florida
Boat: csy 37
Posts: 2,844
Images: 1
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

waeco - the guys who make your fridge - recommend wiring the compressor directly to the battery bank. 15 amp fuse is same that i have. fridges are voltage sensitive and having 8 gauge wire is not really overkill. i used 10 guage but if the wiring is already there i'd leave it. the fridge will probably be your biggest amp draw.

make sure the compressor has good air flow over it. the engine room is probably not the best place for it. is it possible to move it inside the cabin somehow? i added a 12volt computer fan to cool the compressor AND the control module, which is also heat sensitive.

nice to know that once you've got it all set up, solar pretty much runs itself. just check your battery water level every couple of weeks....
__________________
onestepcsy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 21:20   #89
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

Hey guys,
My new system is slammin thanks to you'all.
My Victron battery monitor is scheduled to arrive UPS late Tuesday evening.
I have no concerns regarding the install but I'm thinking about adding a Blue Seas #2151 double battery terminal fuse to my 4 Trojan T-105's.
What size fuses should I be using?
I need a fuse from the positive terminal to the bus bar and the second post I'll need a fuse for future accessories (maybe the fridge and bilge?). Currently I have everything tied into the positive and negative bus bars and nothing at the terminals.
Anyone think I shouldn't bother with the double battery terminal fuse?
Overkill?

http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Sea-Syste...=blue+sea+2151

Thanks
__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 22:41   #90
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 570
Re: House Batteries in my Westsail 32

"If all insects on Earth disappeared, within 50 years all life on Earth would end. If all human beings disappeared from the Earth, within 50 years all forms of life would flourish. Biologist Jonas Salk"

Little likelihood of that. Those of us who live in the SE USA learn at an early age what infinity really means...it's the number of things that fly and crawl and bite when the sun goes down over the bayou. You can't disappear an infinite number of things no matter how many of them you kill. Like fire ants.
__________________

__________________
fryewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.