Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-03-2013, 23:01   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Queensland, Australia
Boat: Maxim 38 ft catamaran
Posts: 242
Hooker power

Using power dive hooker I need to get more air ,my unit is 12amp 12Volt 2 cfm 18 psi.The next more powerful unit is 24amp 12Volt 4cfm 24 psi.
How can I increase the output of my current unit?
__________________

__________________
Jacana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2013, 23:10   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Seattle
Boat: Cal 40
Posts: 2,401
Images: 7
Re: Hooker power

This is a very disturbing post unless you are talking about hookah.

From what I know about pumps and motors in general, I doubt you're in luck. Do you need more pressure or volume? If you just want to add a person and go no deeper you just need more volume. If you want to go deeper you need both. Running a compressor faster does not increase pressure, so adding a faster motor doesn't help deeper and the compressor is probably only rated for a certain speed anyway. A higher pressure compressor will require more power, so you replace both the motor and compressor and now you're at the point where you're at buying the next one up.
__________________

__________________
cal40john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2013, 23:19   #3
CF Adviser
 
Pelagic's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Boat: Van Helleman Schooner 65ft StarGazer
Posts: 6,892
Re: Hooker power

Are you sharing your 'hooker' with another person?
__________________
Pelagic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2013, 23:25   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,848
Re: Hooker power

by definition a hooker always shared by many people I am not sure how you would give her more power
__________________
motion30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2013, 23:26   #5
Marine Service Provider
 
fstbttms's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Under a boat, in a marina, in the San Francisco Bay
Posts: 3,594
Re: Hooker power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacana View Post
How can I increase the output of my current unit?
Forget it. You need a bigger piston. Ain't gonna happen. If you want more output you'll need to buy a bigger compressor.

And as previously mentioned, it's a hookah, not a "hooker."
__________________
fstbttms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2013, 23:31   #6
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chesapeake bay
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,810
Re: Hooker power

you could try running it at 24 volts but not for too long or if it gets to hot
__________________

__________________
boat_alexandra is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:31.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.