Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2016, 17:24   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: C&C 41
Posts: 346
GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

I have been ordered by my insurance company to install GFCI in galley and head. Just tried in the galley and failed. There is just not enough room in the electrical box for the outlet and wires. Wires are supposed to be attached to captive rings on the plug but this cannot work due to space limitations. The ring connectors stick out the side and break off when trying to bend flat to go in the box. One option is to solder the ends of the multi strand wire and install as per house wiring. Is this acceptable practice?

Another option would to put a master Ground Fault breaker on the 110 volt system but how and where?
__________________

__________________
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 17:31   #2
Registered User
 
Stu Jackson's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC (Maple Bay Marina)
Posts: 6,389
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

If you can interrupt the wiring somewhere between the panel AC breaker and the galley outlet, find another place to install an outlet (receptacle) in that wiring. Then that GFCI will protect everything downstream from it.
__________________

__________________
Stu Jackson
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, (Maple Bay Marina) SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 17:41   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: C&C 41
Posts: 346
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

Brilliant, thank you.
__________________
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 17:48   #4
Registered User
 
Stu Jackson's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC (Maple Bay Marina)
Posts: 6,389
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

You're very welcome. Enjoy. My f-i-l lives in Cowichan Bay and we get up your way by ferry & car often. Lovely place.
__________________
Stu Jackson
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, (Maple Bay Marina) SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 18:49   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: C&C 41
Posts: 346
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

Is it acceptable to solder the ends of the multi strand wire rather than use captive rings? It seems that the rings are the main problem I am having.
__________________
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 09:34   #6
Registered User
 
OS2Dude's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 144
Images: 5
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

You can also replace your 110 breaker with a GFCI breaker and have the same benefits with out having to install a new GFCI outlet.

I used rings on my GFCI outlet's side screws. You have to back them out which they may not want to be, but it works fine assuming you have the length of wire to be able to work on it. I put mine on the side, not sicking straight back because of the room issue. I eventually want to go to a GFCI breaker to cover the whole boat.
__________________
OS2Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 09:38   #7
Marine Service Provider
 
Scott Berg's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Aboard
Boat: Seaton 60' Ketch
Posts: 959
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

Captive spades meet all codes and work much more easily...


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Scott Berg
WAĜLSS
SV CHARDONNAY
Scott Berg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 11:06   #8
Registered User
 
nitpik's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada, North Channel of Lake Huron
Boat: 41' Colvin Gaff-rigged Schooner
Posts: 222
Send a message via Yahoo to nitpik Send a message via Skype™ to nitpik
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

ABYC since 2010 recommends ELCI at main AC panel. This one is a Carling, but other manufacturers also have them (BlueSea)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	138
Size:	266.5 KB
ID:	120601  
__________________
Some days you step in it ............... some days you don't.
nitpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 11:12   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 45
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

They make outlet box extenders that attach to the front of the box, they are about 1/2 thick. most hardware stores carry them.
__________________
mramoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 11:24   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: C&C 41
Posts: 346
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

Bought a box extender, it stopped the galley cabinet from opening. Wired with captive spade connectors but they stuck out just enough to stop the unit going in the box. In trying to lay them more flush, several broke. Just soldered all the wire ends and when the weather improves will complete. Thank you all.
__________________
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 12:47   #11
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 6,066
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

I think just for shits and giggles, you may consider putting all your AC outlets on GFIs. Finding a path to ground aboard " ain't that hard ". If you have room put in a small breaker panel and run all your AC through it. It would cost peanuts. JMHO
__________________
Cadence is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 14:31   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Pacific NW
Boat: Spencer 53 Cutter
Posts: 7
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitpik View Post
ABYC since 2010 recommends ELCI at main AC panel. This one is a Carling, but other manufacturers also have them (BlueSea)
ELCI Electronic Circuit Interruptor breakers are installed at the point where shorepower enters the boat typically before it reaches the main panel and within 5 ft of shorepower plug. By design they trip at 30mA of current. More to protect against stray current entering the water around the boat.

GFCI Ground Fault Circuit Interruptor protects the end user at the outlets. By design they trip at 5mA of current. Protects the end user of whatever device is plugged into an outlet.

It only takes 5mA of current to kill a person so the ELCI doesn't protect you like a GFCI does. So I have installed both on my boat.

Use the captive spade connector with a solid crimp, though soldering the multi strand wire will fulfill ABYC, it is not the best connection. Find another spot on the boat as recommended above and install an accessible GFCI outlet and then run wire from that to your other outlet, or go to a master GFCI breaker for your panel. And install an ELCI for your incoming shorepower if you do not have an Isolation Transformer.
__________________
SailorSpencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 14:49   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: C&C 41
Posts: 346
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

This is all retrofits in a 1985 boat. Not going to move the outlets, not going to rebuild the cabinets. Just trying to meet the demands of the insurance company. I argued that codes are not retroactive, lost the argument. Agree with all the comments and suggestions but not all practical without serious money and upgrades. Thank you.
__________________
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 17:14   #14
Registered User
 
hamburking's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Kingston Ont Canada
Boat: Looking for my next boat!
Posts: 2,149
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

You can replace the AC breaker in your breaker box with a GFI breaker. Costs a bit more, but fits in the same space. Makes the whole circuit GF tolerant. I think they are blue around here.

On my 1974 Pearson, and several other previous boats, I removed ALL the AC wiring entirely. I don't need a mocrowave oven or a toaster on my boat.
__________________
hamburking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2016, 17:28   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Boat: C&C 41
Posts: 346
Re: GFCI - Ground Fault Breaker

Have not found one that would fit without re-doing the entire AC panel.
__________________

__________________
Rex Delay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore Power Problem - Ground Fault or Other Issue ? SailFastTri Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 29 19-03-2017 21:51
Prosine 2 Ground Fault so34chi Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 26-02-2015 20:40
To ground or not to ground an aluminum arch...that is my question. chrtucke Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 9 07-10-2014 00:17
Ground fault protector problems tsl Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 12-04-2013 16:51
source for RCBO? aka GFCI breaker Ryan Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 1 11-08-2005 09:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.