Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-10-2010, 17:12   #1

Boat: Beneteau 49 - WAKADUI
Galvanic Isolators

As most of you have already read, galvanic isolators are discussed in this month's Sail Magazine. Ever since I found my zincs nearly gone after only 1.5 years in fresh water, I have been worried about "scavenger boats". This article only fueled the flames.

My question for you is... What product/company do you trust? Article highlighted Guest/Marinco isolators. I am not an electrician, but am fully aware that like most things in life there are Chevy's and there are Cadillac's.

Todd
Old 29-10-2010, 17:45   #2

Boat: Irwin 40
These are without a doubt the best. magazines tend to favor the advertisers products.
Home | DEI Marine
sailvayu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2010, 18:45   #3

Boat: Beneteau 50
I recently got the one that one that was on eBay. I don't think a galvanic isolator is that complex a product. But take my opinion here with a hefty grain of salt. I haven't much experience with them at all.

Regards,
Brad

2000 Beneteau 505 "Summer Boost"
bene505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2010, 20:16   #4
Commercial Member

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Gulfstar Long Range Trawler; 53'; BearBoat
The DEI GI that Wayne referenced is the only one I will install. They are absolutely superior to everything else on the market. This company has been in the GI business for years protecting pipelines and all manner of underground and underwater structures. There product is designed to fail safe; i.e., if the unit is hit by a surge, it will fail shut. You will still have a lifesaving connection to safety ground but you will no longer have GI.

Charlie
"The Devil is in the details and so is salvation."
CharlieJ is offline   Reply With Quote