Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-07-2017, 06:29   #1
Are you serious?
 
sailorboy1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: On the boat somewhere
Boat: Hunter 410
Posts: 15,390
Extending shore power cable

I need a longer shore power cable, will2 standard cables plug together?


Yes I could go disconnect mine and try plugging the ends together or spend $20 for a round trip Uber to West Marine to try it. But I'm sure someone already here knows.
__________________

__________________
jobless, houseless, clueless, living on a boat and cruising around somewhere
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 06:37   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
boatpoker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario or Bahamas
Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Posts: 3,790
Re: Extending shore power cable

Yes it will work but you are adding nine more points of resistance .... not a good thing.
__________________

__________________
That hysterical laughter you hear as you sail a way in your "new" boat ..... is the seller.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 06:45   #3
Registered User
 
Terra Nova's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Marina del Rey, California
Boat: Mako 248
Posts: 4,089
Re: Extending shore power cable

Besides the extra connections, the wire gauge will not be sufficient for minimum voltage drop at twice the distance.
__________________
1st rule of yachting: When a collision is unavoidable, aim for something cheap.
"whatever spare parts you bring, you'll never need"--goboatingnow
"Id rather drown than have computers take over my life."--d design
Terra Nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 06:46   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
Blue Stocking's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Georges, Bda
Boat: Rhodes Reliant 41ft
Posts: 4,131
Re: Extending shore power cable

One can buy a cylindrical adaptor which accepts the females on the cable ends. watertight and holds the pins and sockets securely together,
__________________
so many projects--so little time !!
Blue Stocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 06:48   #5
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,482
Re: Extending shore power cable

Mechanically it will work. But it will now be a 20A cord, not a 30A cord.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 06:49   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
delmarrey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Philippines until May
Boat: Boatless Now
Posts: 10,996
Images: 122
Re: Extending shore power cable

Will turning the boat around get your connection closer?
__________________
Faithful are the Wounds of a Friend, but the Kisses of the Enemy are Deceitful! ........
The measure of a man is how he navigates to a proper shore in the mist of a storm!
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 06:59   #7
Are you serious?
 
sailorboy1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: On the boat somewhere
Boat: Hunter 410
Posts: 15,390
Re: Extending shore power cable

Wouldn't be twice the distance, only want to use a 12'
__________________
jobless, houseless, clueless, living on a boat and cruising around somewhere
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 07:08   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Long Beach, CA
Boat: Tayana Vancouver 42
Posts: 2,243
Re: Extending shore power cable

Yes it will work. I did it for years in my previous slip. I did not have any heavy draws like air conditioning. No, it's not as proper as a single cable of the proper length and gauge. Do check the connections frequently for signs of heating.
Tayana42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 07:08   #9
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 26,408
Extending shore power cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorboy1 View Post
I need a longer shore power cable, will2 standard cables plug together?


Yes I could go disconnect mine and try plugging the ends together or spend $20 for a round trip Uber to West Marine to try it. But I'm sure someone already here knows.


I do it all the time, I have two full length cords and one shorter, maybe half distance?
Anyway works fine and I pull nearly 30 amps, usually around 25.
You have to often as you can't get within one cords length of the source sometimes. Those screw connectors on the cables are I'm sure meant to connect them together.
I also put silicone grease on the connectors, I feel sure a lot of the overheating problems people experience is from corrosion increasing resistance and of course heat.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 07:45   #10
Registered User
 
flyingfin's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cape Haze,FL
Boat: Carver,Cobia,Nacra, Columbia
Posts: 413
Re: Extending shore power cable

Make sure the point of connection is protected from weather (rain, dew, direct sunlight). An upside down bucket with side cutouts for the cables works great
Use a good dielectric grease on the prongs, then pull apart every few months to check for corrosion or overheating
flyingfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 09:24   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SF Bay Area (Boat in La Paz)
Boat: Valiant V40
Posts: 589
Re: Extending shore power cable

It works just fine, but our boat never draws near 30 amps. I do suggest you purchase the collar that allows you to screw the locking collars together, both securing the connection and providing some level of water protection.

https://www.westmarine.com/buy/marin...22?recordNum=6
jamhass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 09:31   #12
Registered User
 
S/V Alchemy's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto
Boat: Custom 41' Steel Pilothouse Cutter
Posts: 4,965
Re: Extending shore power cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Mechanically it will work. But it will now be a 20A cord, not a 30A cord.
That sounds about right. I had my boat in a scantily powered yard and had to run two 12 ga. "construction grade" 15 amp lines to the nearest outlet of 100 feet and 50 feet. I noticed I would trip the circuit at about 10-11 amps, although I had good voltage of about 113 VAC at the boat end and I was "within spec" for that with 12 ga. You can find online calculators all over the place; I like this one: Voltage Drop Calculator
__________________
Can't sleep? Read www.alchemy2009.blogspot.com for fast relief. Can't read? Avoid www.volumesofsalt.blogspot.com, because it's just personal reviews of sea books.
S/V Alchemy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 10:28   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Nanaimo BC
Boat: modified Spray 56' oa
Posts: 358
Re: Extending shore power cable

Measuring the voltage while max needed current draw will tell you if you've under wired it. Hard on power tools to run low voltage but just the fridge may be good. Smoke from the junction is a bad sign
topmast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 15:56   #14
Registered User
 
CaptTom's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern Maine
Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 1,595
Re: Extending shore power cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
Mechanically it will work. But it will now be a 20A cord, not a 30A cord.
That seemed a little conservative, for AC. So I plugged in some numbers here:

Quote:
Originally Posted by S/V Alchemy View Post
You can find online calculators all over the place; I like this one: Voltage Drop Calculator
This is what it came up with:

Quote:
1 conductors per phase utilizing a #10 Copper conductor will limit the voltage drop to 5.04% or less when supplying 30.0 amps for 100 feet on a 125 volt system.
That's closer to what I'd expect. I don't think you'd come close to a 33% voltage drop. Note that AC can be transmitted much more efficiently than DC. That's why Westinghouse won out over Edison.
CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2017, 17:55   #15
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 5,482
Re: Extending shore power cable

While your math is probably correct the crummy twist lock connector is a big worry. Having 3 of these in series is just asking for trouble running 30A.
__________________

transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
shore power

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
extending Nasa Easy Navtex aerial cable Ketchcalimbo Marine Electronics 4 05-02-2016 06:18
Shore Power Cable Short Circuit ? Alecadi Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 33 07-09-2011 09:10
Ship-to-Shore Power Cable Revelations Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 16 28-08-2011 19:26
Extending Radar Cable bobs Marine Electronics 34 24-04-2011 19:20
Two Amp Feedback to Shore Power Cable - Help! denmanislander Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 38 29-03-2010 07:57



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.