Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2014, 15:52   #1

Boat: Morgan Classic
Electrolysis Problem

[ I just bought a 1988 Morgan classic a little over 2 months ago. I have had it in a marina for that time. Last month month I had the bottom cleaned and was told that the zinc was almost completely gone. During the survey 2 months ago it looked ok. I replaced the zinc and this month it was gone again. Obviously I have an electrolysis problem. I have asked my neighbor boats to check their zinc to make sure that I am not messing them up or they me.
I guess the question is how do I run down the source of the "leak" I am pretty new to boat electrical stuff so any pointing me in a direction would be great.
I have shore power and my AC is running a lot (summer in Florida) that is the biggest electrical draw by far. Besides that I have an inverter, hot water heater port and starboard 110 receptacles and a small Microwave.
The A/C (16000 Btu unit) draws about 13 amps. The A/C breaker does switch off when the Microwave is turned on. I don't know if that means anything, but I thought I would put it in here just in case that indicates a possible problem.
Thanks for any advice or guidance you could give on this problem. If I can't find the source of the problem, I will get a marine engineer or mechanic to fix it. But I do think that I will need to know this stuff before heading out for a 18 month cruise.

Lynne
Lynne
Lynnenorring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 16:13   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 48 Wauquiez Pilot Saloon
Re: electrolysis problem

Hey Lynne,

Welcome to CF! Congrats on the boat, and total bummer on your problem... There are TONS of guys more well versed in this than I... BUT...