Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 09-06-2012, 07:27   #1

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Electrical Musings

Ive been living for a couple of weeks, off and on, on my mooring with no working generator. This has given me some insights into my electrical household on board, and raised a number of questions.

I have a Rutland 914i which does not seem to be working properly, producing 8 amp/hours of power (at 24v) in 40 hours of windy weather, according to its own control panel. The wind generator is a huge disappointment and has no measureable effect on my electrical budget.

I have just spend about $2500 on a professional electrician who installed the Rutland and rewired my system to consolidate the negative bus, so that the shunt for the Victron battery monitor works correctly, and so that I have a master fuse in the system to protect against a fire. This expensive work does not seem to have had the desired effect. The shunt does not seem to be measuring amps in and out correctly. On shore power with dead batteries, the Victron Multiplus charger puts 30 amps or so into the batteries according to the battery monitor. The charger is supposed to put out 70 amps.

And 50 or 60 amp hours of power consumption according to the battery monitor bring my batteries down from a full charge to 50% - 60% (measured according to light load voltage, not a true open circuit voltage test). I have a 420 amp hour bank so this does not seem right. I killed my batteries once, so I accept that their capacity might be reduced, but surely I can expect to get at least 120 amp hours of power out of them from a full charge to 50%. So I guess the battery monitor is showing me 50% of the amps going in and going out not all the power is going through the shunt.