Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-04-2008, 11:45   #1
Registered User
 
anglooff's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boat in Panama
Boat: Vandestadt ketch 42
Posts: 357
Electrical/fridge problem

In finishing the refitting of my new lady, I reconnected the fridge to it original wiring. The light will come but the compressor won't kick in. If I connect the 12v fridge direct to the battery everything works fine.

There was a thread a week or so back, discussing a similar problem, which for the life of me I can't find. So my apologies for razing the question again...please either direct me to the thread or if you could please repeat answers/ suggestions.

The difficulty as I see it, is that it is now rewired where it was...fuses are fine, everything (seems) as it was and when connected directly to a battery, purrs away and works bueatifully.

Your help, as always, would be greatly appreciate

Alan
__________________

__________________
anglooff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2008, 16:54   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,826
It sounds to me like you have excessive resistance in the wiring. Either you have at least one poor connection or the wiring is undersized for the startup current.
The fridge sees excessive voltage drop when it tries to start, so it doesn't.

Steve B.
__________________

__________________
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2008, 16:57   #3
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus
 
Hud3's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia
Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold
Posts: 8,929
Images: 49
Ditto what Steve said. These devices require REALLY good electrical connections!
__________________
Hud
Hud3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2008, 17:17   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
David M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: research vessel
Posts: 10,150
Find out what your startup load is in amps and buy wire to match that load so that you have no more than a 3% drop in voltage. There is probably a placard on the back of your refrigerator or on the compressor motor itself that states the maximum amps.

As already stated, check your connections. This can be done by placing an ohm meter across your connections. There should be virtually no resistance across your connectors.

Voltage Drop Calculator, Amperage Tables, Wire and Cable Technical information
__________________
David

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fridge Kit Installation mickmul Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 17 12-05-2008 15:18
Using a small 115v fridge...vs... Cheechako Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 29-03-2008 15:55
Fridge compressors - EZ-KOLD chad.lawie Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 6 26-02-2008 19:52
Fridge / Freezer re paint Frank, Southern Voyager Construction, Maintenance & Refit 2 25-12-2007 07:27
Fridge door seals stuffinbox Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 1 03-04-2007 12:28



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.