Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-03-2013, 14:30   #16
Registered User
 
deckofficer's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern and Southern California
Boat: too many
Posts: 4,198
Images: 4
Re: double the inverter double the wattage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
aint ever seen that I must say

Dave
My very old Trace 2012 keeps the clocks alive in search mode, just doesn't display the time till it is running. Doesn't yours do the same?
__________________

__________________
Bob
USCG Unlimited Tonnage Open Ocean (CMA)
http://tbuckets.lefora.com/
deckofficer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2013, 14:42   #17
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: double the inverter double the wattage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deckofficer View Post
My very old Trace 2012 keeps the clocks alive in search mode, just doesn't display the time till it is running. Doesn't yours do the same?

nope, not at all. Ive seen some invertors probably like your trace, when in standby mode, reduce the PWM to very small ratios, so they still generate mains AC , and then rapidly switch to full mode once a triiger current is detected. Those sort keep clocks alive becuase they are in effect generating mains.

Today, usually a pulse is sent out to energise any potential load, then the switcher starts up. That type of invertor basically shows 0VAC at the outlets and doesnt power up clocks or anything, ( its actually a mode I dont like anyway)

Dave
__________________

__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2013, 14:53   #18
Registered User
 
deckofficer's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern and Southern California
Boat: too many
Posts: 4,198
Images: 4
Re: double the inverter double the wattage?

Dave,

If things are real quiet I can hear it pulse at the unit. I've used a neon test light to confirm it and just thought between regular pulses and capacitors in the circuits for the clocks, that was all that was needed to keep clock memory alive. So your telling me the newer inverters will not keep a clock holding time in search mode?
__________________
Bob
USCG Unlimited Tonnage Open Ocean (CMA)
http://tbuckets.lefora.com/
deckofficer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2013, 14:58   #19
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: double the inverter double the wattage?

Quote:
If things are real quiet I can hear it pulse at the unit. I've used a neon test light to confirm it and just thought between regular pulses and capacitors in the circuits for the clocks, that was all that was needed to keep clock memory alive. So your telling me the newer inverters will not keep a clock holding time in search mode?
none of my cheapy ones do thats for sure, even though they are in a standby mode. Putting a scope on shows in effect a brief 220VAC pulse ( where I am) but that pulse is between 100ms to under 1sec in some invertors, so I cant see how that powers up clocks, which would need continuous albeit low power mains power.

dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2013, 15:33   #20
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,830
Re: double the inverter double the wattage?

I used to have a Xantrex 1800 Prosine.
Used to have, because it ate itself for breakfast while on the power save mode.
Long before it died, I put my Fluke oscilloscope on the output while on power save.
It put out one sine wave, full ac voltage every two and a half seconds.

Steve
__________________
Memento,homo, quia pulvis es, et in pulverem reverteris.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2013, 07:00   #21
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 2,943
Re: double the inverter double the wattage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drousy88 View Post
Can I hook two 1200 watt inverters together to continuously power a 2400 watt appliance?.... reason I'm asking is because its cheaper to buy two 1200s than it is to buy one 2400...

What are you powering that requires 2.4kW?

In general, more inverters will power more stuff, not bigger stuff.
__________________
Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2013, 09:26   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: panacea, florida
Boat: morgan 41 sloop
Posts: 42
I don't need any of it. Just curious about inverters..
__________________

__________________
drousy88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.