Cruisers Forum

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2018, 17:16   #16

Boat: Westerly Sealord
Re: Does portable generator plug into shore power outlet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamburking View Post
One word: Solar Panels
Ummm... that was actually two words

My Honda only comes out in dark and gloomy anchorages where a glimpse of the sun would be a fine and wonderful sight.............
Old 13-05-2018, 19:15   #17

Boat: Kelley-Peterson 46 cutter

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
The venerable Honda for example is available in two models for the US version, all this is US 110V 60hz only, rest of the world is of course different.
I have been cruising in Mexico for several months. Because "everyone knows" the rest of the world is of course different, I was pleasantly surprised to find all my adapters are not needed.
Power in Mexico is 110v 60hz AC.
Old 13-05-2018, 19:35   #18

Boat: PDQ 32 LRC

Yes, I plug my EU2000 directly into the shore power receptacle on the boat using an adapter. It is just like plugging in from shore power except that you only have about 16amps AC instead of 30-50 amps. However, you will get much better charging of your batteries than with solar. My EU2000 will charge my 400ah lead acid bank through an older Freedom 20 charger at 14.5 V and 75amps under bulk charge. You would need over 1000 watts of solar to get this kind of charging.

As far as CO emissions are concerned, if you run the generator on the deck in a location that is downwind of the cabin with a sufficient breeze, I don't see any problem. I do have a CO detector in my salon and it has never been triggered.
Old 14-05-2018, 08:25   #19
cruiser

Boat: Ontario 38 / Douglas 32 Mk II

Quote:
Originally Posted by patrick brooks View Post