Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2018, 13:34   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New England
Boat: lagoon 380 s2
Posts: 576
Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

Pulled into a slip today. Read above title. Looked at instruments 30 sec after he plugged me and to my horror noticed it was reading 250 V. Shut down my ac and pulled the plug out of the back of my boat.

I had only turned on my ac plugs and water heater.

He re plugged me into 120.

Main breaker did not blow at 250.

Should I be worried about anything? I had nothing plugged into ac plugs when it was 250. Assuming water heater could handle that for 1 minute.

Did try an ac appliance after we plugged into 120 and all was ok.
__________________

jbinbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 13:35   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New England
Boat: lagoon 380 s2
Posts: 576
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

Oops. Mods, doing this on phone and realizing it is NOT in electrical but products reviews. Candidates edit and move. Hopefully you can. Sorry.
__________________

jbinbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 13:52   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Carrabelle, Florida
Boat: Self-built 44' steel trawler
Posts: 888
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

No burnt smell anywhere? Nothing melted? Everything, including all the electronics, working OK? Get yourself a stiff drink and relax, you dodged a bullet.

Breakers are sensitive to current, not voltage.
tkeithlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 14:08   #4
Registered User
 
Jerry Woodward's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Punta Gorda/Kentucky
Boat: PDQ 32 LRC
Posts: 354
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

Oh great, now I have something else to worry about! How is this possible? Was this in the US? I would think that 220 would have a different plug, no?
__________________
s/v Terrapin
May the four winds blow you safely home
Jerry Woodward is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 14:15   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: dusty plains
Boat: someone elses
Posts: 40
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Woodward View Post
Oh great, now I have something else to worry about! How is this possible? Was this in the US? I would think that 220 would have a different plug, no?
Same question, I've never seen a 220 plug that could fit into a 120 socket and vise-versa. Just like 50, 30 and 15 amp plugs are all different.
JMitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 14:35   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The boat - New Bern, NC, USA; Us - Kingsport, TN, USA
Boat: 1988 Pacific Seacraft 34
Posts: 526
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

What style of plug was plugged into what style of socket?

These are the common NMEA plugs and sockets used in marinas in the US.


Was there a mismatch of plugs and sockets or was there a wiring mistake in the marina or on the boat?
wsmurdoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 14:55   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
hpeer's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Posts: 4,398
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

IIRC AC wiring is generally rated for 600 volts. The max actual AC voltage you see on the wires is really 1.414 x nominal or about 262 volts from a 230VAC source. Soooo....your wiring should be able to handle it.

Your devices are a different story. SOME devices are manufactured to be used on American AND Euro power. Many not. But if nothing was plugged in you are good.

BTW I did the same thing last Saturday. I have a portable welder that will work on 120 or 220, but there are different adaptor plugs. I have about 200 feet of heavy extension cord and a whole bunch of adaptors to fit various 3 and 4 prong appliance outlets. Stoves, dryers, RV pedestals. Just get 110 or 220 where ever I can. I use the same extension cords for 110 and 220, they have the 20A plugs and sockets. After 8 years of doing this off and on last week I got distracted and plugged the machine 120 adaptor into the extension cord without the right adaptor. Smoked the welder. It’s in hospital for repairs as I type.

Point being 120 wiring is normally adequate for 220VAC.
hpeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 16:17   #8
Registered User
 
HopCar's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Boat: Ellis Flybridge 28
Posts: 3,347
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

I just don’t see how it’s possible to plug a 30 amp 120V cord into a 250 volt outlet. The plugs are completely different to prevent just that. The wiring on the dock must be really screwed up.
__________________
Retired from Hopkins-Carter Marine Supplies
HopCar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 18:26   #9
Registered User
 
GrowleyMonster's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Orleans
Boat: 1976 Cal 2-27
Posts: 1,553
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbinbi View Post
Pulled into a slip today. Read above title. Looked at instruments 30 sec after he plugged me and to my horror noticed it was reading 250 V. Shut down my ac and pulled the plug out of the back of my boat.

I had only turned on my ac plugs and water heater.

He re plugged me into 120.

Main breaker did not blow at 250.

Should I be worried about anything? I had nothing plugged into ac plugs when it was 250. Assuming water heater could handle that for 1 minute.

Did try an ac appliance after we plugged into 120 and all was ok.

If the water heater still works, everything should be fine. Might be good to have a spare heater element on hand for the water heater, though. Just out of an overabundance of caution, if you just can't live without hot water for a spell. The overvolting could have shortened the heater element lifespan. Could have as in maybe but probably not.
__________________
GrowleyMonster
1976 Cal 2-27, MR WIGGLES
Now with clean, dependable electric propulsion!
GrowleyMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 20:40   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 549
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbinbi View Post
Pulled into a slip today. Read above title. Looked at instruments 30 sec after he plugged me and to my horror noticed it was reading 250 V. Shut down my ac and pulled the plug out of the back of my boat.

I had only turned on my ac plugs and water heater.

He re plugged me into 120.

Main breaker did not blow at 250.

Should I be worried about anything? I had nothing plugged into ac plugs when it was 250. Assuming water heater could handle that for 1 minute.

Did try an ac appliance after we plugged into 120 and all was ok.
You do know that when you pulled the plug on the boat
You were dancing with a live wire in your hand?
I always pull the cord off the pedestal (shore power) BEFORE
disconnecting the boat.
Just Sayin
Cheers
Neil
Time2Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 21:04   #11
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 20,571
Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

Quote:
Originally Posted by HopCar View Post
I just donít see how itís possible to plug a 30 amp 120V cord into a 250 volt outlet. The plugs are completely different to prevent just that. The wiring on the dock must be really screwed up.


I came into Brunswick after a 40 something hour passage from Vero Beach and took the fuel dock at about 3am, I managed to plug my 30 amp cord into a 50 amp outlet, it was late and dark, you can make it fit, I didnít think you could so I didnít check, figuring if it fit, it was correct.
They have 30 and 50 amp on the docks, but only 50 amp on the fuel dock.
Luckily as all my power is routed through my Magnum inverter, after a reset everything was OK, the Magnum survived having power on both the hot and I think the neutral. It didnít pass the power through to the Boat, Iím not sure what would have happened if it did.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 23:26   #12
Registered User
 
TeddyDiver's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arctic Ocean
Boat: Under construction 35' ketch (and +3 smaller)
Posts: 1,930
Images: 2
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

DIY electricians alot around there?
TeddyDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 00:29   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,783
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

Two questions:
- How did it get plugged into 240v? Did he use an adapter or was the pedestal wired wrong? You would really have to try to plug into the wrong socket.
- Why did you let someone else plug you in?

Most likely you are fine but I would go thru and try out everything to see if there is any problems:
- Breakers wouldn't pop because it's amperage not volts that activate them.
- Resistance devices (like the hot water heater), should be fine if they still work. Worst case the heating element might need to be replaced (controls are typically 12v and run off the battery)
- Most modern electronics can accept either voltage.
- In the future, don't trust the dock hands to do much of anything. They rarely know what they are doing and usually just muck things up.
valhalla360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 09:24   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 300
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

Quote:
Originally Posted by valhalla360 View Post
Two questions:
- How did it get plugged into 240v? Did he use an adapter or was the pedestal wired wrong? You would really have to try to plug into the wrong socket.
- Why did you let someone else plug you in?

Most likely you are fine but I would go thru and try out everything to see if there is any problems:
- Breakers wouldn't pop because it's amperage not volts that activate them.
- Resistance devices (like the hot water heater), should be fine if they still work. Worst case the heating element might need to be replaced (controls are typically 12v and run off the battery)
- Most modern electronics can accept either voltage.
- In the future, don't trust the dock hands to do much of anything. They rarely know what they are doing and usually just muck things up.
Wise advise,like the dock hand that put gas in all my diesel tanks, I looked at the fuel filler nozzle and saw that it was a large diameter like for diesel and never actually looked at the pump and thought everything was fine. Later I realize what they did and kind of figured they went to a larger nozzle to fill up boats with large tanks faster is the only possible reason I could come up with... so from now on I don't say I need fuel, I'm very clear about I need diesel or I need gas! It only took me a couple days to figure out what happened! Because when the gas is mixed with diesel it still has a diesel odor. I couldn't tell the difference until I got to a can that had pure diesel and then I could smell the difference. A very important lesson was learned
Kita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 10:14   #15
Registered User
 
tstano's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NH
Boat: Pearson 530
Posts: 120
Re: Dockhand plugged my 30A 120 into 30A 250

I don't see how you were able to plug into a 50A with a 30A line, was it on a splitter. What were you reading the volts with. Interestingly I have had the opposite reaction when plugging in and getting less volts.
__________________

__________________
All U Get
tstano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dock, plug

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator Plugged Into 30amp Onboard System? JEdward Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 15 21-01-2013 11:02
I Have 2 30a Sockets, Port and Starboard - Do they Both Need to Be Plugged In ? Punx Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 05-09-2011 14:52
Plugged Propane Lines bmartinsen Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 16 06-06-2011 04:55
For Sale: 120 AMP Powerline Alternator, Unused $250 Cinnabar222 Classifieds Archive 2 26-07-2010 04:15
Vacuflush head plugged ezwoo Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 14 19-02-2007 19:37



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.