Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2010, 12:33   #1

Boat: 1990 Ericson 32-200
Send a message via Skype™ to DennisM
Cost of Wind Generator and Refrigeration?

I'm a total rookie, so please forgive what may be a couple of stupid questions. I have been told that my boat once had a Frigi-Kool system in it (at least, I think that's the name), but a PO removed the parts that go inside the icebox area under the chart table (condenser, etc.?). All that remains are the wires, the drain, and the metal attachment (with zinc) to the outside of the hull, beneath the water line.

My hope was to have someone restore it and add a wind generating system, since the only way I can charge my batteries right now is either by shore power or with the engine.

A local (infamous) sailboat expert has quoted me roughly $3,000.00 for each installation, for a total of $6,000.00 for the fridge and windmill. I simply can't afford that, but I was wondering if those costs sound reasonable or unreasonable to the many more experienced boat owners here.

All advice greatly welcome.
DennisM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:52   #2

Boat: Beneteau FIRST 42
from Experance, I've installed a 4-winds generator and a new frige system.. the frige was a technautics was around 3k and the wind generator was 2.5k...But that was with myself installing them.. I went with the technautics "Cool Blue" for the amperage used.. it seems to be one of the lowest for power use.
The 4-winds due to its output being very high..
We live and cruise on our boat, its a "stand alone" system and has not been plugged into dock power for 7 years now.. along with the wind charger we have 200 watts of solar to power our over 2000 amp hour storage system..