Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-10-2016, 19:12   #1
Registered User
 
epiic's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Boat: Jeanneau 409
Posts: 246
Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

I would like to connect my Yahama 2000iS to the shore power inlet on my boat.

I have a 2015 Jeanneau SO 409 and for whatever reason, Jeanneau decides to make a proprietary shore power cords rated for 30 amps and a 50amp ship side inlet with a cover label that says "Marinco 32amp 50/60 hz easy lock".

What a complete disaster with no reason for it.

I purchased the 15A Male to 50A Female Adapter by Marinco and it did not fit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30a1.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	212.5 KB
ID:	133759   Click image for larger version

Name:	30a2.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	205.0 KB
ID:	133760  

Click image for larger version

Name:	30a3 copy.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	208.5 KB
ID:	133761  
__________________

__________________
2015 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 409 - 3 Cabin / 2 Head, Shoal Keel, Furling Main, Performance Genoa 135% with Tracks, Folding Prop, Bow Thruster, Air Conditioning, B&G Zeus2 Chartplotter, B&G Autopilot, B&G 4G Radar, B&G ForwardScan Sonar.
epiic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2016, 19:25   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

I had a similar issue with my Lagoon. I ended up changing out the easy lock with a more conventional 30 amp /110 volt that I picked up at WestMarine. 32 amp does not seem to connect to anything in the States.
__________________

rtoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 04:10   #3
Registered User
 
epiic's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Boat: Jeanneau 409
Posts: 246
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtoner View Post
I had a similar issue with my Lagoon. I ended up changing out the easy lock with a more conventional 30 amp /110 volt that I picked up at WestMarine. 32 amp does not seem to connect to anything in the States.
If I change out the easy locks, that means I would need to purchase new shore power cords. These cords cost $400ea and I have two of them.

32A adapters must exist somewhere, no?
__________________
2015 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 409 - 3 Cabin / 2 Head, Shoal Keel, Furling Main, Performance Genoa 135% with Tracks, Folding Prop, Bow Thruster, Air Conditioning, B&G Zeus2 Chartplotter, B&G Autopilot, B&G 4G Radar, B&G ForwardScan Sonar.
epiic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 05:56   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 7,352
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by epiic View Post
If I change out the easy locks, that means I would need to purchase new shore power cords. These cords cost $400ea and I have two of them.



32A adapters must exist somewhere, no?

Looks like less than 100 to me

http://greatlakesskipper.com/furrion...FQiNaQodMOkN_Q


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Sailmonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 07:27   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

When I received my boat it came with some pretty cheap shore power cable that was rigged and had a 30 amp plug installed. I honestly didn't feel like it was good enough so buying new wasn't a hurdle.

One option is to also change out the plugs on your shore power along with the one on the boat. It would potentially save some $$$.

The tricky thing that I ran into was the colors of the wire is not the same in Europe and USA. I had to ohm out them to ensure I didn't mix them up and create a bad scenario.
rtoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 09:58   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: London
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 38
Posts: 1
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

I have the exact same problem, I have the European version of the Yamaha ef2000is so the ac receptacle on the Yamaha is the European socket (2 hole).

My shorepower socket on my boat is exactly the same as pictured on yours (32A)

The shore power cable that I already own have goes from the 32A shore power socket on the boat to a 16A socket at my marina in the UK

https://www.yachtshop.co.uk/marinco-...LWMaAuhP8P8HAQ

What I was thinking of doing was to use the adapter linked below and adding it to the end of my existing shorepower cable and then plugging into the Yamaha socket.

Force 4 Mains Hook Up Adaptor - Euro

Could anyone shed any light on whether this solution would work for epic and myself?

Many thanks

Tom
tomenglander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 09:59   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,796
Images: 32
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

What you have is a 32 amp 220volt connector that is not proprietary but found on various European built boats. There is an adaptor for it which won't solve your problem, unless you have a 220 volt generator. I have seen two of these problems just this last summer.
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 10:39   #8
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 7,861
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

The mismatch is to save you from yourself.
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 11:24   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 399
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

It looks like you have a european 32 amp 230v connector which is very close if not the same as one of the 50 amp 125 volt connectors, but not the same as the american 50 amp 125 volt connector.
This web page has some useful pictures.
http://www.rebadigarbarino.com/pdf/i...Reba_Cap06.pdf
you'll have to be sure about the input voltage before connecting anything.
I aslo suggest considering the Aber smart plug if you end up changing sockets.
guyrj33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 14:14   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,126
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

You are out of luck; but that is not bad. Otherwise, great way to start an electrical fire on board.
reed1v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 16:19   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GREEN COVE SPRINGS, Florida
Boat: Irwin 43 Mk111 CC, Sloop
Posts: 379
Send a message via Skype™ to adlib2
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by epiic View Post
If I change out the easy locks, that means I would need to purchase new shore power cords. These cords cost $400ea and I have two of them.

32A adapters must exist somewhere, no?
30 amp power cords can be purchased for $80 to $110 for 50ft.
adlib2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2016, 18:15   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,633
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

what is on the male end of the shore cord? it must be a standard 30a 120v plug? if you are plugging into north american docks. so buy a adapter that goes from your 30a male end to 15 amp plug. and use your existing shore cord.

Pigtail Adapter 30A 125V Locking to 15A 125V Straight Blade with LED Light | Marinco

or if this fits into that boat plug, you can use a lighter 15a extension cord instead of having to use your shore cord. it looks like a normal 30a plug to me.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2016, 08:39   #13
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 7,861
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

I don't know? Is European voltage supplied from three phase source? If so using one leg for 120 give or take is fine but combining both legs to increase the available amperage is no no. Out of phase sources don't like each other.
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2016, 17:12   #14
Registered User
 
epiic's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Boat: Jeanneau 409
Posts: 246
Re: Connecting 15A generator 32A Shore power inlet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailmonkey View Post
Looks like less than 100 to me

Furrion F30C50-SY Yellow 30A 50FT Marine Grade Boat Cordset Power Cord | Great Lakes Skipper


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
The Marinco shore power cords that were included with my boat have an American 30A on the shore side and 32A European on the ship side.

It cannot be purchased unless ordered from Jeanneau and they sell them for $400.

I decided to end the madness and order up 2 new 30A inlets with new 50' shore power cords. The last thing I need is to be stuck somewhere with a broken shore power cord with no way to replace it quickly.
__________________

__________________
2015 Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 409 - 3 Cabin / 2 Head, Shoal Keel, Furling Main, Performance Genoa 135% with Tracks, Folding Prop, Bow Thruster, Air Conditioning, B&G Zeus2 Chartplotter, B&G Autopilot, B&G 4G Radar, B&G ForwardScan Sonar.
epiic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, shore power

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Homestrand 205-32A Gimbal? asfreeasthewind Provisioning: Food & Drink 1 03-04-2016 18:22
European power - 32A from two 16A outlets steve77 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 11 24-07-2015 15:33
Simple 15A Shore Power In Small Boat (Looking to install in-line 15A AC Breaker ) NS22Wren Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 1 31-10-2012 05:51
Connecting Shore Power FIREFLY Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 11 26-06-2010 02:49
Where to put shore power inlet? fjweaver Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 10 26-06-2008 01:17

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.