Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-03-2012, 20:28   #1

charging question converter/charger

My new to me boat has a converter / charger I have no experience with this type of device and don’t have a manual so I hope someone will share their knowledge with me.

The converter turns on at the breaker box and has 2 red and 1 black wire that runs to my perko switch. When I turned on the converter ( it’s a 30 amp ) the dial went to about 18 or 20 amps. I have 2 batteries installed in the boat but had the perko switch turned to the off position.. the next day battery 1 was pretty warm to the touch but battery 2 was not….. and the boat didn’t have enough juice to start. I connected a battery tester to the batteries and according to the tester they both needed a charge.

So how does the perko switch work in this scenario? Should I keep it in the #1 position or both (1 and 2) position when charging… or is it designed so that it will still charge a battery even if it is in the off position? One buddy thinks I have a bad perko switch I think that the perko switch isolates the 12v system but still allows the battery to be charged.. if I am right then I either have a bad charger or bad batteries.. or maybe I was wrong to put the perko switch in the “off” position.. if so i cant explain why battery #1 was warm to the touch

i appreciate any feedback
thank you
Dwain
BentWheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2012, 21:39   #2

Boat: Catalina 27 - Handyman NO# 1229771
Send a message via MSN to tallyhorob
Re: charging question converter/charger