Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2014, 07:01   #1

Boat: PT-11
Charging Help

I have a 100a mastervolt charger as one of the charging sources for my 840ah gel cell bank. I cannot get it to put its full output into the bank. On shore power with batts at about 60%, it puts in 45a. This should be near its max as we have sufficient AC available and the batteries are low enough to accept a big charge. The same thing happens with a generator. How can I tell if it is an issue with the charger or if the batteries just won't take the charge?
SVNeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 07:22   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Charging Help

Not familiar with the specifics of the Mastervolt but as I understand it is a programmable charger and has temp sensing for the batteries.

I would first check the settings on the charger to make sure the output wasn't limited by some internal program.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 07:31   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422

Another thought. Did the same charger previously put more amps into the same batteries at the same SOC? Have you changed anything in the system? Had anyone working on the wiring?
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 11:28   #4
CLOD

Boat: none

since it happening for both the alternator and a generator I would check wiring connections to be sure you don't have a bad connection causing a voltage drop (which is also a fire in the making)

but then if the generator just supplies the battery charger it would be the same as shore power
Old 12-02-2014, 13:30   #5

Boat: Mainship Pilot 34