Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2013, 12:29   #1
RDW

Boat: Morris 1996 46' Lexington
Charging Alternatives

I have two 65 watt solar panels, two alternators on main engine ( I think one is 60 amp and one is 200 amp) and I have a Northern lights M673 8KW generator and a 75 amp 110 battery charger. I have 4 Rolls T250 12 volt house batteries and one engine start battery for the generator and one for the main engine. I will be doing the Caribbean 1500 which will be 8-10 days off shore.
I am not very experienced and not into electronics. I am assuming that my engine with 260 amp of alternators would be the best way to make significant charging. It is my thought that I would run my engine first thing in the morning when the batteries are most discharged and can take amps faster and then let the solar panels top off the batteries. My main engine uses a gallon of diesel per hour and the generator uses 1/2 gallon per hour. We do not make ice, run airconditioner, or make water.
Am I way off base? Any suggestions on energy management?
I did the Caribbean 1500 in 2011 with no problems but I am trying to learn.
RDW
RDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 12:41   #2
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Re: Charging Alternatives

I would suggest equalize the batteries so they are at their best before the race gets near. And if there is any doubt, load test them to make sure they're pulling their weight, so to speak.

The genset should be the most economical way to charge them, in terms of pounds of fuel versus power output. The solar panels might put some 50-60AH of energy per day into the system, so you probably should actually measure your energy budget, see what you are consuming, and then see if the solar panels can get you through it.