Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-11-2019, 13:23   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Charge Controller for Turbine

Hi - I have two 24w solar panels and they run into a Victron 150/35 charger controller.

I just put up a wind turbine it says its 400 watts.

Can I just wire in the wind turbine to the existing charge controller or do i need a special charge controller for wind?

Thanks

Richard
(currently in the Port of Brest Waiting to cross Biscay single handed)
__________________

Richkayak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2019, 14:47   #2
Registered User
 
ccannan's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Boat: Alubat, OVNI 47
Posts: 281
Images: 5
Re: Charge Controller for Turbine

Typically you need a special charge controller for wind. If the batteries are full and the wind generator is still making electricity youíll need/want to dump that electricity either into a dummy load, or water heater.
__________________

__________________
Chip
ccannan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 02:57   #3
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 5,627
Re: Charge Controller for Turbine

+1.

Most turbines have their own controller as there are different ways of regulating them, it even varies from model to model from the same manufacturer.

Some use a dump load (like mine), some manage their own electrical braking, controlled by the regulator.

It would help if you told us which wind generator you have.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 04:59   #4
registered user
 
HankOnthewater's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Australia
Boat: plastic production yacht, suitable for deep blue water ;)
Posts: 571
Re: Charge Controller for Turbine

Above posters are correct. You need a separate controller for the wind generator. Your Victron solar regular is for solar only. BTW, your controller can handle 500 Watt at 12 volt, more at higher voltages. But that is SOLAR only.

If you were to connect the wind generator to that controller, while the batteries are full..... you will fry the generator, and maybe even the solarpanels if connected to the same input. and if input voltage rises above 150 Volt.... controller will be fried as well. Hmmm, the order of frying might be different.

If you were to connect a wind generator direct to the batteries without a controller, you will fry the batteries, that is if the batteries are full. Without a controller you can get away with that.....only if your electricity consumption is bigger than the supply of the wind generator.

"Fry" is a very technical term. That word can be replaced by: cook, destroy, terminate, finish.
__________________
Wishing you all sunny skies above, clear water below, gentle winds behind and a safe port ahead,
and when coming this way check http://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Albany,_Australia
HankOnthewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 05:22   #5
Registered User
 
Mike OReilly's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Good question
Boat: Rafiki 37
Posts: 7,096
Re: Charge Controller for Turbine

I have a dual wind/solar charging system on my boat with 400 watts of each. Solar runs to a Victron controller while wind runs through its own controller.

My wind controller is a far simpler beast than my solar MPPT. It uses voltage and/or amperage settings to control charging states. Basically, it's a bulk charger that is either on or off, based on a simple voltage setting. No smart controlling. No absorption or float capabilities.

You can run solar through this kind of simple wind controller (at least I did, for a season), but it's not nearly as effective as a proper MPPT.
__________________
Why go fast, when you can go slow.
BLOG: www.helplink.com/CLAFC
Mike OReilly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 05:23   #6
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 5,627
Charge Controller for Turbine

Quote:
Originally Posted by HankOnthewater View Post



"Fry" is a very technical term. That word can be replaced by: cook, destroy, terminate, finish.

Fried is a very suitable word.

I fried the bridge gate rectifier on my Aerogen following a sequence of failures brought about because I didnít BELIEVE the manual when it said not to leave the device untethered when unattended.

The break down voltage of that particular rectifier was rated at 500 volts.

500!

It looked fried. Well fried. Positively crispy.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 09:24   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Currently cruising the eastern Caribbean
Boat: Lagoon 42, Minx
Posts: 122
Re: Charge Controller for Turbine

My Aerogen 6's rectifier gave it up after 10 years. I ordered a replacement from Aerogen in England and it lasted a day. The replacement they sent lasted two days. I bought a larger load rectifier on Amazon, after making sure the dimensions would allow it to fit in the same space. Works great again.
singlespeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2019, 16:15   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oz, PNG, Western Pacific
Boat: Adams 42
Posts: 76
Re: Charge Controller for Turbine

Depending on what your wind generator has in the way of a controller and / or rectifier in place.
At nameplate 400 watt my guess is it is a 3 bladed Air-X lookalike from China with a 3 phase a/c output. ( An AU$300 touch such as I have).

If so you will need to rectify the 3 phase to d/c.
It's output will then need to be monitored to avoid frying the batteries and other power users on the boat when the batteries are fully charged.
My solution is to use a set of relays that short out the 3 phase between the generator and rectifiers and manually monitor the system voltage.

To automate this setup a simple voltage sensing switch could be added.
With the relays engaged the generator so loaded that it slowed down to about 1 rev per second and thus "braked".

You can chose to have the relays when powered up to be in the on or off setting so their very small drain on your system is used either while the generator is charging or braked.
My observations are that it starts charging at 12 to 13 knots of wind and then produces about 2 amps per knot above that. At 30 knots it is running at around 30 amps and anything above that the blades cavitate and assail your eardrums.
Hope it all helps.
Cheers
Frugal
Frugal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2019, 00:46   #9
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 5,627
Re: Charge Controller for Turbine

Quote:
Originally Posted by singlespeed View Post
My Aerogen 6's rectifier gave it up after 10 years. I ordered a replacement from Aerogen in England and it lasted a day. The replacement they sent lasted two days. I bought a larger load rectifier on Amazon, after making sure the dimensions would allow it to fit in the same space. Works great again.


Well, that makes me feel even better about using the generic rectifier I bought from RF. I mean, I bought it because it was about 1/100 the price of the genuine article, but letís be frank, a bridge gate rectifier is a bridge gate rectifier. Theyíve got a blódy nerve as,ing the price they ask for their genuine article, which is just a standard ade-In-India model.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2019, 08:48   #10
Registered User
 
ccannan's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Boat: Alubat, OVNI 47
Posts: 281
Images: 5
Re: Charge Controller for Turbine

A model number, link and price would be helpful.

Quote:
Originally Posted by singlespeed View Post
I bought a larger load rectifier on Amazon, after making sure the dimensions would allow it to fit in the same space. Works great again.
__________________

__________________
Chip
ccannan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combining a diversion controller with a MPPT Solar controller GILow Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 19-01-2016 05:45
Proper wiring for a Sunforce (or many any) MPPT charge controller for a wind turbine onefastdaddy Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 19-02-2015 20:38
One Solar Charge Controller or Two? exposure Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 8 05-03-2007 04:10
Is there such a thing as an "all purpose" smart charge controller? ssullivan Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 16 29-07-2006 13:44

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.