Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-04-2016, 10:27   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 242
Breaker for Bridge Switch?

Starter circuits are a possible exception to the fuse/breaker rule.

But what about when the starter bank is bridged to the house bank?

Do you fuse / breaker the bridge?

I'm wondering if bridging is not a necessary or usefull option to begin with.
I'm wondering if an A,B, Both, Off switch can be modified to remove the Both setting.
__________________

__________________
dave777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2016, 20:45   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,699
Re: Breaker for Bridge Switch?

the house line leaving the switch should be fused... if that is your question.


there is many different types of switches... the blue sea on / off / combine dual cct ones are now the most I use.
__________________

__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2016, 11:54   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 242
Re: Breaker for Bridge Switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
the house line leaving the switch should be fused... if that is your question.


there is many different types of switches... the blue sea on / off / combine dual cct ones are now the most I use.
This is a starter circuit. The engine uses the starter batter on A, or the House bank on B, and OFF is an item. The switch also has "Both" which would in effect also function as a bridging circuit.

Perhaps this is not a good method to bridge banks, even though this common battery switch does so.

If the line to the house bank is fused/breakered, then when connected to house bank for starting the potential large rush of starting current is likely to blow the fuse/breaker. If to compentsate for this, the fuse/breaker is set too high, it defeats the safety purpose.

If no fuse is used, then when Both is selected, there is potentially a huge rush of current if one bank is too low, or shorted.

Should "Both" be disabled on the switch, or avoided except in extreme circumstances.

I could rig a dedicated bridge switch with a fuse/breaker. Is this the better approach? What value for this fuse/breaker?
__________________
dave777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2016, 00:43   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,699
Re: Breaker for Bridge Switch?

like I said fuse the house panel feed line between the switch and panel... close to the switch.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2016, 01:57   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Boat: CT 56
Posts: 418
Images: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to undercutter
Re: Breaker for Bridge Switch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave777 View Post
Starter circuits are a possible exception to the fuse/breaker rule.

But what about when the starter bank is bridged to the house bank?

Do you fuse / breaker the bridge?

I'm wondering if bridging is not a necessary or usefull option to begin with.
I'm wondering if an A,B, Both, Off switch can be modified to remove the Both setting.
I always thought these types of switches were for 2 loads. eg main engine and generator start circuits but I can see how they could be wired as you indicate. Ours is with 2 loads and the parallel switch is a straight open closed contact switch which is not fused from the house bank.

If I were to install a fuse for this bridge I would think it would have to correspond directly to the amperage requirements of the starter motor. Your starter battery bank should also be sized for this amperage requirement and should give you some idea. We have an 1100 cca battery (8D) for our engine circuit. I would imagine that anything less than a 550 amp fuse wouldn't last long so I am not sure what good it would do.

Our bow thruster is potentially a 600 amp draw. It is protected by a 375 amp slow blow fuse. Yes we have blown this fuse.
__________________
undercutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weak breaker? Switch? Macblaze Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 22 24-11-2015 10:14
Battery switch with shore power breaker keelsidedown Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 17 10-05-2015 21:46
Recommended Breaker Size for Ignition Switch ? sdowney717 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 27 18-11-2011 09:01
Breaker / Switch Failure Wakadui Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 8 10-08-2010 17:23
Switch in Off Position Causes Breaker to Trip Patrick_DeepPlaya Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 03-08-2009 05:19



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.