Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-04-2014, 14:07   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NH
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 106
Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

I would like to get some thoughts on what's the best way to run wiring either through the deck or through the stern hull. I'm installing radar on a stern mounted pole and solar this season so I'll have three wires that I need to run. The radar cable is 5/8" and the solar is 10 gauge both for the pos and neg. There are the standard compression fittings that are typically used, but I read on a blog recently an owner drilled a 1" hole and mounted a threaded PVC pipe connector. After the wires were run through it he filled it with sealant. I like this idea because if you want to add something like an AIS antenna wire it could be easily done with out drilling a new hole. Could any members give their thoughts on this and what worked well on their boat? Thank you and input, I don't like drilling more holes in my boat than I have to.

Dave
Tayana 37
__________________

__________________
ddsailor25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2014, 15:02   #2
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,737
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

I've used the conduit gland and flexible conduit in the past. If you put a loop or swan neck at the top of the pole you wont need to fill the conduit with sealant. The main issue I have found is that the glands don't have enough thread on them to pass through the deck. This is easily solved by epoxy gluing them in place. One other caveat is to make sure that the conduit used is UV resistant - some aren't.

I've no doubt there are speciality connectors available for $$$ but the conduit works well.
__________________

__________________
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2014, 16:33   #3
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

The answer is the best way is no new holes at all.

Guy I met bought the same type of boat as mine ex-charter... So both boats exactly the same except i owned mine 5 years longer and one day he said: "i hate drilling holes in my deck but today I drilled 17. How many have you put in?" None, I said. None. I recently had to put in one, but thats it, just the one.

So think is there any other way you can do it?

If theres no other way then you have to, but....





Mark
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2014, 18:30   #4
Registered User
 
Terra Nova's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Marina del Rey, California
Boat: Freya 39 cutter- Terra Nova
Posts: 3,652
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

Run the wiring inside the pole and through a hole in the mounting flange--all internal.
__________________
1st rule of yachting: When a collision is unavoidable, aim for something cheap.
"whatever spare parts you bring, you'll never need"--goboatingnow
"Id rather drown than have computers take over my life."--d design
Terra Nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2014, 18:36   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NH
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 106
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

Terra Norva, Unfortunately, that won't work where the bracket is mounted on the vertical and the wire will be exposed. If it was a straight pole mount with a flat base it would be easier.

Dave
__________________
ddsailor25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2014, 18:45   #6
Registered User
 
Terra Nova's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Marina del Rey, California
Boat: Freya 39 cutter- Terra Nova
Posts: 3,652
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

You didn't say you already had a bracket that you had to live with. How about a photo?
__________________
1st rule of yachting: When a collision is unavoidable, aim for something cheap.
"whatever spare parts you bring, you'll never need"--goboatingnow
"Id rather drown than have computers take over my life."--d design
Terra Nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2014, 19:09   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NH
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 106
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

Terra nova. I should of been more clear about his. I don't really have a problem mounting the pole for the radar I'm more curious on the best way to run the wires through the hull with the least amount of holes through the deck or hull for the three wires I have to run. The bracket we have for the radar pole is a U shaped bracket with a bolt running through the center with the cable running out the bottom.

Thank you,
Dave
__________________
ddsailor25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2014, 19:29   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Location: St Pete FL
Boat: 1972 Contest 33
Posts: 783
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

I think Marc is right. No new holes if you can help it. If you have a rail with wires running through it use that. If you can run the wires around the pole down to a already existing hole then use that. No new holes ever. That's experience talking now.
__________________
Auto pilot is saying get up here and grab the tiller.
w1651 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2014, 04:34   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NH
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 106
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

I do have an engine room exhaust vent close to where the radar pole will be and I hardly ever use it. I could run them through there. But, yes I really hate putting any new holes into anything.
__________________
ddsailor25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2014, 05:41   #10
Moderator
 
HappyMdRSailor's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Mississippi
Boat: 48 Wauquiez Pilot Saloon-C22 Chrysler Sunpiper- 19 Potter-Preparing to cruise w/my girl
Posts: 5,980
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

A PVC nipple sticking out of the hull would be hideously ugly... Other nipples while pretty and fun... are inappropriate for the application.... I think anything directly under the pole might look OK... I still would go with a deck gland, oversized and 4200 gooped if you think more wires are in the future...

No PVC is impervious to UV degradation... Painting will cure this...
__________________
In the harsh marine environment, something is always in need of repair...

Mai Tai's fix everything...
HappyMdRSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2014, 10:06   #11
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,205
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

If in the transom, get a right size bronze/SS/or plastic mushroom thurhull put a 90 on the back turned up. Run your wires, then pack it with electrical fire calk. It will be water tight. Will allow for future wires if needed.

Lloyd
__________________
FlyingCloud1937 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2014, 10:18   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,371
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

Stern: Hole thru and a big clamshell over the exit. The cable loops upinside the hull , down thru the hole and the clam covers it. Fill with goop.
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2014, 20:51   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,701
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

blue sea cable clam

the bigger ones take multiple cables.

Cable Clams - Blue Sea Systems
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2014, 03:52   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 277
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

I would also run the AIS wire for future use. A few extra $$$ now for cable will save much aggravation in the future......
__________________
D.D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2014, 05:03   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NH
Boat: Tayana 37
Posts: 106
Re: Best way to run wires through the hull or deck

Good point D.D. Will do.
__________________

__________________
ddsailor25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
deck, hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulling new wires through bow pulpit tubing dpopken Marine Electronics 7 19-06-2013 14:45
Pulling Wires Through Mast Conduit jr_spyder Marine Electronics 18 13-06-2012 10:52
Best way to connect wires ?? #4 to #20 Panamajames Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 5 04-05-2012 18:29
Running electrical wires through the deck? gbanker Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 30-12-2008 18:32
Best way to run a diesel on the hard ?? bob_deb Engines and Propulsion Systems 5 10-12-2008 15:00



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.