Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-07-2018, 15:46   #1

Boat: 2003 Beneteau Oceanis 331
Battery Decision - Currently mixed age and AGM/Wet-Cell

Hi all,

I bought my first boat (2003 Beneteau Oceanis 331) in July of last year and have been slowly tackling the "Recommended Repairs" from my survey. I'm new to this so learning curve is steep (but fun!).

Coming to you guys for advice on one of these RR's. The engine battery on my boat is a 27 series AGM battery dated 2013. Apparently, the house battery went bad right before the survey so the previous owner installed a new West Marine Dual Purpose 1280 4D flooded cell battery right before the survey and sea trial.

My surveyor told me that "mixing battery technologies and ages is not recommended" and this is one of my Recommended Repairs (RR).

Over the course of the past year (I kept the boat in water all winter - keeping a close eye on her) the batteries have seemingly performed fine. I'm studying Nigel Calders book and starting to learn how they work....but my question to you guys is.....do I really have to ditch one of my batteries and spend more $$ to get a new one that is same age/tech? I will if I have to but I have a lot of projects in front of me and unfortunately not an unlimited budget :-).

Greatly appreciate your advice, as always. Thanks guys.

Joe
"Azimuth"
Annapolis, MD
JoeDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2018, 20:40   #2

Re: Battery Decision - Currently mixed age and AGM/Wet-Cell

not really an issue with different banks.

batteries connected directly together in the same bank matter.

most boats would have multiple batteries in a house bank. all changed at same time.

if a single battery is effecting your budget.... you're probably going to be in trouble...
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote